In 5th Grade I was 10


Join with me as I join Janna in recording my youth for my superstars!

Disclaimer:  No pictures for a while as they are packed away and are who knows where. 

5th grade has some vivid memories.
Kaydee Cin was my best friend, who looked enough like me that we confused some teachers.

Speaking of teachers, Mrs. Aliotta was my 5th grade teacher.  We  remember her saying she didn’t have a teacher’s pet, but as the year went on, Jason Asmus totally disproved that statement.  She also rang a bell when we were getting to be too loud.  Yeah, right.  Like THAT did anything.  One of our class’s favorite pranks was to tape the bell so that it couldn’t ring.  Also, we had 2 projects that I remember.  The first one was Slave Day.  I was Kevin Wulf’s slave for the day and the next day, he was mine.  We had an auction and everything.  The slave had to do your homework and sit on the floor and do whatever you said.  It was kind of fun.  Even when it was YOUR turn to be the slave.  The other project was learning about a country.  My partner was Sandy Yuhn and we studied Peru (she wanted to do Peru because her brother had studied that country when he was in fifth grade).

My brother and I used to ride our bikes up and down our long driveway or around and around in circles in the garage pretending they were horses and we were either showing them or going on trail rides.  Oh, how I wanted a horse! 

I liked to play in the car when it was parked in the garage and pretend I was driving.  One day, my mom or dad had left the keys in the ignition.  I turned them and the car JUMPED forward.  Not very far, but it startled me.  Oh, and my brother since he was in front the car at the time and it hit his legs.   Luckily, he didn’t get hurt at all.  If I remember, I was pretty shaken up after that.

I think this was the first year we went to the Black Hills in South Dakota, a family favorite.  Before we left, I remember going on a bike ride with Mom and Andrew and we went down an big hill (we had done it many times before).  Andrew completely wiped out.  He got majorly hurt and I asked Mom, “Can we still go on vacation?”  It was like a whole month away.

I think it was that Christmas that I received my My Child doll.  I named her Stacie and I LOVED her.  I loved that she could stand and I love that she wore a real diaper that crinkled.  She was so awesome.

Another toy that I played with (and I really really don’t know why) was this obnoxious candle dove.  It was like 10 inches long and 3 inches high and all white.  I liked to cradle it on my arm and carry it around like it was injured.

But one of the most memorable things about 5th grade was on one Saturday morning when my brother and I were watching cartoons.  We looked out our big picture window and saw a bull wandering around our yard.  Yes, a bull!  A drooling, humongous red bull just meandering in our yard. We were surrounded by cow pasture, but you still don’t expect to see a bull just walking along outside your house.

There you have it. 5th grade in a nutshell.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in My Piggy Tales. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In 5th Grade I was 10

  1. Cute stories! 5th was rough for me…move to a new home and school and friends, and all that growing up in a non-familiar body, and boys. Whew! So glad that is over!

  2. Ginny Marie says:

    I was absolutely horse crazy when I was a kid, too! Seeing a bull outside your window would be a little disconcerting! Great memories!

  3. I just love, love, love your stories…you are just a fun loving person.
    Oh the car story is toooo close to home. I had four under age 7, the three year old got in my car, while the 5 and 7 year old were in the yard, while I was putting the baby in her room…well he put the keys in, put it in Neutral and it rolled out the the garage, off the driveway, knocked down the neighbors fence…just feet from going into their pool!!!!!!!!
    Oh the what if's ….none of my kids were hurt…that is the day the God reminded me that I couldn't parent alone…good lesson…from then on it has been in His strength only
    Enjoying your journey!!!!

  4. My mind is running with the thoughts of how a Slave Day would go at school today. Me thinks it would not be a good thing. LOL!
    My sister and I used to pretend our bikes were horses, too. There was even a particular bump in the road which we pretended was a jump. *grin*
    Good memories.

  5. You have so many great, clear memories. I love that!

  6. Kaydee says:

    I love having a connection with you about past memories. I miss hearing your stories everyday at work now and so glad that I can “hear” you telling them on your blog. 🙂

  7. Arletta Rue says:

    OK<,, I think I must have checked out when you were in 5th grade.. cause I don't remember any of this happening... is this when we lived in the house on the hill? Not the one we built ,, the other one?/ ...... I need pictures I guess... then it all comes back..

Leave a comment