Because I LOVE you!

Chris has these cool cousins who have children the same age as ours (literally the biggest age span between our children is 8 weeks). I’ve told you about them before, Pete and Natalie. We LOVE them.

When we went to visit them this fall without the superstars, we were so impressed with their children’s behavior. They explained that they were sold on this parenting philosophy calling “Directing Vision Daily” by Danny Silk. It worked and we could tell.

They let us borrow their video series and after holding onto it for 2 months, we were able to coordinate with our good friends, Dustin and Amanda, a schedule so that we could all watch it together. This turned out to be one of the best things we could have ever done. We now have resources in each other to bounce ideas. We so need it because this stuff seems a little counter culture (at least in the Christian culture).
I am going to go through my notes and weekly post some of the information that he expressed. I am kind of hoping that it helps me to remember everything!
When I first started hearing some of his thoughts on parenting, I didn’t think that I would agree wholeheartedly. I still need to challenge some of his philosophy with other scripture. But as I am doing that, I am seeing our family enjoy each other and love each other and learn from their experiences and NOT our lectures.
Seriously, come back! I am so excited to share this stuff! As I share, I would LOVE to hear what you guys think (I am not begging for more comments for the sake of comments. I really want to know what you think). I may not have explained something well or there may be something I haven’t thought about.
The only bummer part about me blogging this stuff is that you can’t actually HEAR Danny’s role playing.
HYSTERICAL!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in danny silk. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Because I LOVE you!

  1. librariane says:

    Ooo, now you've piqued my interest! What you've just posted reminds me of the debate that raged around Joshua Harris' dating book…

  2. It's always great to have friends with whom to bounce ideas around. And I think it's wise for you to think critically about what is presented. Not all the ideas will work for you and your kids, and that's OK. It's the grace of God we need, and if He speaks through the experiences of other parents, take it! *grin*

Leave a comment