Decidedly Happy Blogger

Not long ago, a new blogger friend, Janna, posted about the difference between being small and connected or big and anonymous.
It was kind of funny because just days before she posted about this, I was thinking to myself, “How in the world am I going to get more followers? I would really like some more followers.” I caught myself thinking these things and stopped.
I started thinking about what a blessing my current blogging has been.
I am getting to know some really cool women. Incredible women. If I had thousands or even hundreds of people following my blog, would I be so blessed to get to know these people?
No and I am so blessed.
I would rather be small and connected than big and anonymous.
I think.
Honestly, I would LOVE to be another MckMama/Pioneer Woman, but I’m not. I am Gianna (Giannamama if you will) and I have AWESOME friends/followers. You are friends and I am enjoying you entirely!

Also, just a couple of days ago, Karen (another new friend), posted about blogging comments. These seemed to go together for me. I hope and pray for LOTS of comments. But you know the last time I had 11 comments (or whatever), it was kind of not so great. Comments don’t mean you are liked or even validated. Comments mean someone has something to say, and it doesn’t mean what you wrote was so inspiring. I am going to be thankful for my 3 comments that I get regularly that make me smile.

I do like to be challenged.
I don’t think I’m ready to be insulted and attacked regularly.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in blessings, fun, life. friends. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Decidedly Happy Blogger

  1. librariane says:

    I know what you mean about wanting more comments, but not wanting the volume that the 'popular' blogs get. Besides the fact, you know what most of those comments are? Meaningless fluff: 'that looks great!' 'you're recipe makes me drool'. (that bad grammar is intentional)

    I guess I want more comments because I know there are people reading who will get into a good dialogue, if the topic is right.

    And I want to be popular.

    There was a radio program yesterday about people thriving on their online connections and becoming obsessed with getting more followers. The author being interviewed felt we need to live our lives with our online lives, not through them. He's right. There's more to life than my blog.

  2. My ADHD Me says:

    I agree 100%. I have also met some great women by blogging, (although we have never seen each other face to face).
    When i get behind on reading their blogs or commenting, i feel like I have missed out. If I had a hugs following, I wouldn't have time to get to know anyone.

    Also, “Great Post” is not allowed. Comments must have a bit more substance.

  3. Amanda says:

    You know Gianna… this is one tough subject. I LOVE the amazing women I meet through blogging, but you are right. Once you get more followers, it is nearly impossible to keep in touch with all of them. Which kills me because I wouldn't HAVE all the comments without them.

    SO! I know what you mean about wanting more… but I also know how special it is to be content with the friends that you have, that are real and genuine and loving. Like you!

  4. Anonymous says:

    In the “olden days” we called such friends pen pals. Now they are blog pals? Still enriching. -Bjoyful

  5. I saw the title of Jana's post in your sidebar and clicked over to read it several days ago. I feel the same way!
    There is the draw to have lots of followers and comments, but – just like you said – I LOVE the true friendship I am developing with the women who comment on my little blog. Yeah. I think I like it this way. I want to be small and connected. *grin*

  6. It looks like you've been might productive with getting your posts done!

    I read about the WOLF! I used to live in Guam and one time the police were chasing a loose Caribou which is like an ox. They were trying to catch him with a rope! We were on the playground and we climbed to the top of the slide to be safe and had a great view of the whole thing. Memories!

    Big for me would be nice from an income standpoint, but like you said if there were so many comments, we wouldn't have time to really get to know our readers the way we'd like to.

Leave a Reply

