Emma Krumbee’s

It was a beautiful Saturday in Minnesota.  We decided to take full advantage and begin our Apple Orchard Exploration.

Since we were in the south metro, we decided to make our way to Emma Krumbee’s.
Emma Krumbee’s is located in Belle Plaine, Minnesota.

Located on a frontage road just off of 169, Emma Krumbee’s looks big and commercial from the road.  They even have a hotel affiliation.
Emma Krumbee’s fall event is the Scarecrow Festival.  Anyone can register to participate in creating unique scarecrows to win cash prizes.
This year, the Scarecrow Festival is from September 8-October 28.  The Festival costs $5 for anyone who is three years and older.  You can just pick your own apples for the price of $15.95 per peck and enjoy the general store without participating in the festival and paying the entrance fee.

However, if you bring any little ones with you, I can assure you that they will be lured by all the fun activities.
And for that reason, I am going to label this orchard as All Inclusive–because of the entrance fee to the activities.

There is lots to do at Emma Krumbee’s.

  • Waterpump duck races

  •  Barrel Train ride

  •  Rope Maze

  •  Playground that includes a hill slide and some tire horses

  •  Tractor trike paths

  • Giant Hay Pile

Not pictured

  • Play areas like the wooden pirate ship and monster truck
  • petting farm (with goats) 
  • tile maze
  • live music
  • tractor ride through the orchard
Outside the festival, they had pony rides for $5 a person that was not included in the entrance fee.  My kids were desperate to ride the ponies who were attached to metal bars that walked them in a circle, but unfortunately, it wasn’t meant to be this time.
Emma Krumbee’s has Pick Your Own apples, but not every apple is allowed to be picked at anytime during the season.  While we were there, Haraldson’s were available.  I don’t like Haraldsons, so I had to convince my kids that we would do it somewhere else!  
For $5, you can fill a pint of raspberries or for $10, you can fill a quart.  
They had a “market” in the Apple Orchard Barn with all kinds of fresh produce including different varieties of apples and other items:  jams, breads, candy, cookbooks, popcorn, knick knacks, etc.
We didn’t make it into the restaurant or the General Store to check out what they had available.  Since my kids were melting down, it was time to go. 
We spent an hour or so at Emma Krumbee’s and my kids were thoroughly worn out.
What I thought: 
  • I liked the variety of activities even though my kids could have ridden the train for 2 hours straight! 
  • I was glad they had the ability to pick your own apples.  There is just something about going to an orchard to pick your own apples. 
  • I though $5 was a steep price to pay.  We were also charged tax, so for my family (without Daddy) it cost us over $20 to enter. Honestly, I wasn’t expecting that.  But like I said, you didn’t HAVE to go into the festival; you could choose to pick your own apples or enjoy the general store without paying the entrance fee.  I really appreciated that fact!
  • It felt a little bit like Wall Drug.  Located on the side of the road with big electronic signs didn’t give that hometown local farm feeling. 
I am glad we experienced Emma Krumbee’s Apple Orchard.  I don’t know if we will make the 56 mile   trip in future years, but it was a fun experience to have.
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in all inclusive, Minnesota apple orchards. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Emma Krumbee’s

  1. Arletta Rue says:

    the kids looked like they had a GOOD time !! I was kind of jealous some of that looked like stuff I would like to do !!!

Leave a Reply

