Grand Ole Creamery

All summer, I’ve been waiting for the right time to get to the well known and much loved [by me] ice cream shoppe–Grand Ole Creamery.  Grand Ole Creamery is located on the hip Grand Avenue in St. Paul. Recently, they opened a shoppe in Minneapolis by Lake Nokomis.  For our review, however, we decided to head to the place we know the best.  

Because it was my first local ice cream shoppe experience and love, I figured that I couldn’t be guaranteed that it was the best until I tried everything.  Grand Ole Creamery has been around for over 27 years.  They make their own ice cream creating their own flavors and treats.  When you walk into the shoppe, you are welcomed with the scent of freshly baked waffle cones.

If there is one thing that is signature about Grand Ole Creamery is the the scent of waffle cones being made.  They are made behind the counter right at the front door.  The waffle cone smell is so overwhelmingly delicious that you can’t even smell the baking pizza from Grand Pizza that shares space with the Creamery.

Grand Ole Creamery is a smallish shoppe that has a chic, urban feel to it.  Recess lighting is sporadic and the walls are painted a rich, deep red. It’s very welcoming and comfortable.  You feel cool simply sitting at a table taking in the surroundings.

Many a St. Paul mayor is well visited there as well as Ed Asner.  You never know if you will run into any local celebrities or national celebrities.  But the ice cream alone is worth the trip to Grand Avenue.  Their selection of flavors is completely unique to them.    Here is what was in their freezer when we visited.

Here are the prices.  The prices seem high, but it’s all relative….

since this is the size of a kiddie cone.

Their Black Hills Gold is legendary.    Every cone they serve comes with a malted milk ball whether it’s on top or in the bottom of the cone.  Personally, I like it on top because after having delicious ice cream, I don’t want to ruin the flavor in my mouth is a malted milk ball.  Yet, I don’t want to waste a perfectly fine piece of candy.  So I prefer the top.  Plus, it’s cute.

The flavors we tried while at Grand Ole Creamery included

  • Black Hills Gold–caramel ice cream with oreos and pralines and pecans 
  • Mac Daddy–butter pecan ice cream with oreos.  This worked out perfectly for Princess Pea since she adores butter pecan and cookies ‘n cream. 
  • Foxy Lady–chocolate peanut butter ice cream with chocolate covered pretzels
  • Cookie Monster–butter pecan ice cream with oreos and cookie dough.  And it’s blue.
  • Sampled flavors–Taro.  Taro is a sweet potato type root.  In the ice cream they include bubble teas.  Honestly, I didn’t understand anything they said except sweet potato.  But I thought since I was curious, I should give this purple ice cream a whirl.  I was taken aback at how sweet it was, at how refreshing it was, and at how I was so tempted to order it for my cone.  I didn’t, but if you are looking for something a little bit outside your norm, go for the Taro.

Let me just say that after these cones at 5:00 pm, no one was really hungry for supper.

Grand Ole Creamery fills tummies and makes kids happy..  It is delicious.  It is unique.  And the staff is excited about their goods.  On hot summer days, you will see a line coming out the door. HOWEVER, no matter how long you have to wait to hold your ice cream cone in your hand, you will enjoy the atmosphere of the shoppe from the moment you step through the doors.

Parking is a little challenging since like most of the Grand Avenue shopping experience, there aren't many lot.So find a street spot and enjoy your walk through historic St. Paul on your way to taste a little history at 
Grand Ole Creamery.


SAINT PAUL LOCATION 

750 Grand Avenue
Saint Paul, MN 55105
(651) 293- 1655




 

MINNEAPOLIS LOCATION

4737 Cedar Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55407
(612) 722-2261


HoursSt. Paul
Fri-Sat: 12-11:00 PM


Mon-Thurs: 11-11:00 PM,




Sunday: 11-10:00 PM






Minneapolis

Sun-Thurs: 11-10:00 PM

Fri: 11-11:00 PM
Sat: 11-11:00 PM


About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in Best Ice Cream cone in the Twin Cities, Ice cream, ice cream reviews, ice cream shoppes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grand Ole Creamery

  1. Jamie says:

    Ahhhh, so funny you wrote about the Grand Ole Creamery… because I've been thinking about that place today.. A friend asked me to write about some of my favorite places of MN and this one came up.

  2. Gianna Rae says:

    I think this place is amazing. I'm glad we both had it on our minds!

Leave a Reply

