Experiencing The Color Run

After a horrible night with the littlest one, I got up in the morning panicked!  Leaving in 15 minutes and no one is awake and I’m still in bed!
It was time to go to The Color Run.
I rolled over, thwacked Chris, and told him, “We gotta get up!” 
And immediately got up, got the kids up, and got dressed as I stumbled around looking for my stuff. 
Fast forward to parking.  We parked a long ways away and had to dddrrrraaaaagggg the stumbling kids into the fairgrounds.  But we did it and I figured that it was the best warm up ever: carrying a 35 pound boy while walking a 1/2 mile.  
Once we saw the crowd, Chris said, “We aren’t going any farther.” I wanted a picture with the kids, so he obliged.

 And then I snaked my way into the crowd.  I found them, waved, and then asked out loud for anyone to hear, “Are we in the right place to start?”

 Let me just say, it was a bit crazy.  The Color Run Team had forewarned us that it would be, but I was completely unprepared for exactly how crazy it would be.  All these white t-shirts, and knee high socks just standing around in the heat and the humidity waiting to run.  Once the waves started taking off, it started to make more sense.

19,000 people ran in this race!
NINETEEN THOUSAND!!!!

We ran 3.1 miles which I found very interesting to do on a sore knee and a hurting foot.  Did I run the whole way?  No.  Because no one really expected you to.  There were lots of families and lots of kids and strollers.  To get any color in the color zones, you had to stop and walk and let them spray you with powder!
But I ran most of it.

At first I was thinking I was going to die, but by the time we were at the finish, I was not expecting it.

This was an experience!  A BLAST!  Next year, we will be running as a family team….even my mom and dad will be.

However, at the end….no one wanted to TOUCH me!
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family fun, running, The Color Run. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

