Friday Fun–Local Splash Pads

Minnesota does summer fun well.   Partly because we love our water and partly because our summer is so short.

Surfing and boogie boarding in the ocean may not be an option, but even without the ocean, Minnesota can hold its own. We tend to enjoy our rivers and lakes any time of the year, but since our summer season is just 3 months (almost to the day), we pack in as much of our warm weather fun as we can.  
On the next few Fridays, I am going to divulge some of favorite/recommended beaches in the area, playgrounds, splash pads, and wading pools.  
Some of them may be free and some of them may have a small fee, but we live a simple low-cost life. Anything I am going to tell you about is something that my family would enjoy because we can afford it. 
This week, I would like to introduce you to some of our local splash pads.  Personally, I love splash pads.  Even though I need to know where my kids are at all times, I am not quite so afraid of them drowning. 
The kids cool down and I don’t have multiple near heart attacks. 
Emerald Park:  St. Anthony Village
Free 
East of Silver Lake Rd. on Macalaster Ave. 
Even though it’s small, it has sprayers and dumping buckets and magical fountains.  My kids adore this splash pad.  The playground is butted up next to the splash pad so it’s easy to keep track of my kids. 
Central Park:  St. Anthony Village 
Free
On Silver Lake Rd.
We haven’t been to this park, personally.  Yet.  But I have had many people recommend this park.  So we plan on checking it out as soon as possible. 
Manor Park:  Robbinsdale 
Free 
Behind North Memorial Hospital
I haven’t been here either, but Twin Cities Park Review rated it 4 stars out of 5.  And honestly, I think that has to do with the distance between the playgrounds and splash pad. 
Nicollet Commons Park:  Burnsville 
Free 
On Nicollet Ave, in the town square 
Simple and refreshing.  Take a walk around town square and let your kids get soaked in the process. With a beautiful waterfall and an enchanting lizard fountain, this splash pad is simply wonderful.
Lewis Park:  St. Paul 
Free 
On Marion Street (use your GPS to get here because it’s a little tricky)
This splash pad is best used before 11:00 am.  Only because it is simply deserted until then.  It’s a lot of fun.  My boys had a blast running back and forth between the water fun and the playground fun!
Oak Hills Park:  St. Louis Park 
Free 
On Rhode Island Ave 
This was the first splash pad we ever visited and I still think it’s my favorite.  With three different areas in this fenced-in pad (here the angels sing “Hallelujah!”), you can play with the water cannons, the sprinkler arcs, or the water fountains.  Lots of kids come and bring their plastic trucks and toys. 
Highlands Park: Cottage Grove 
Free 
On Hinton Ave
This is brand new.  I don’t know anything about it, but if you are on the southeast side of town, there you go!  A splash pad just for you!
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in twin cities splash pads. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Fun–Local Splash Pads

  1. Leah says:

    Love splash pads!

  2. Jamie says:

    Oh, I am so happy we found each other because of SITS! I will look forward to reading to hear about “home” for me.

    My Minnesota roots will always be with me =)

  3. Gianna Rae says:

    So glad to see you, Jamie!

Leave a Reply

