Conny’s Creamy Cone

When my good friend told me about Conny’s Creamy Cone, I thought she was mistaken.  Never mind that she lived just a couple of blocks from it for years.  But this little ice cream shoppe is a beloved stop for many citizens of St. Paul each summer night. 

 It is located on the corner of Maryland and Dale.  In a delightful red and white building with a gigantic ice cream cone waving out to newcomers, “Welcome to Conny’s.”

 All along the front is a porch where you order from.  Being right on two busy roads, it gave me a sense of safety for my kids.  If they stayed on the inside of the railing, they would be safe.  A few benches are placed on this porch, and I sat my children down on it as we waited for our ice cream to be ready.  And one by one, the cones came.

Conny’s is open from March to October at 11:00am. In the fall and the spring they close at 9:00 pm and in the summer 9:45 pm.

 Let me tell you what makes Conny’s so special.  They  have over 24 flavors of soft serve ice cream.  Flavors like cotton candy, pistachio, blackberry, chocolate, etc.  The list of flavors is unbelievable.
I believe they can twist which ever flavor you want with vanilla, too.  Or they can take the crunch topping and swirl it together on top of you cone.

If you want a dipped cone, you must get a vanilla, chocolate, or traditional twist cone.  The remaining 24 flavors are too soft to dip.  Not only can you get a dipped cone, you can get a dipped cone with crunch topping.

Case in point!

 I was in heaven.  Why not go for all the good stuff, right?  So I enjoyed it, I did.  I must confess with all the delectable goodness I should have chosen just one or the other.  It tasted amazing, and I believe it would have tasted even more amazing if I had gone simple.

The kids all got cotton candy.

 And it tasted incredibly exactly like cotton candy.  Cleaning up their cones gave me a psychological sugar rush.  And like I said, the special flavored cones were really soft.  They melted quickly.

When you go to Conny’s bring an entire case of wipes.  They will provide you with a handful of napkins which will help.  The wipes, though, will be more helpful.  First wait until the cone eaters are done because there is no use cleaning them up when the cone still exists!

Honestly, I don’t remember the prices off the top of my head, but I do remember thinking, “Ice cream for 4 of us[one was at a birthday party and daddy was at work] for less than $10!”  
Conny’s also has chill bars (frozen treats on a stick), flurries, sundaes, malts and shakes, floats, smoothies, and other food and appetizer items.  So if you are not in the mood for a simple cone, they have more options. 
However, at Conny’s Creamy Cone, I do believe the best choice is a creamy cone. 
1197 N. Dale Street
St. Paul, MN  55117
651-488-4150
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in Best Ice Cream cone in the Twin Cities, Ice cream, ice cream reviews, ice cream shoppes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

