Hudson Wisconsin

There is a little town right outside the Twin Cities.  In fact, it’s just outside of Minnesota in what my husband (and his friend Keith) like to call “The Promise Land.”

First of all–give me a break.  It’s Wisconsin.  Like it’s SOOOOOOOOOOOOO much different from Minnesota except in some parts they say bubbler for drinking fountain and soda instead of pop.

Second of all — I’m pretty sure The Promise Land was Israel.

But I’m going off on a tangent.  I have issues and I know it.

Let’s travel across the St. Croix River and into Hudson.  When you exit off Interstate 94, you are greeted with the  usual highway stops:  McDonald’s, Taco Bell, Menards, a clinic, some gas stations.  But if you go North of 94, you have the opportunity to make your way down to Main Street Hudson (also known as 2nd Ave).
While you are in Hudson, you will encounter a huge park on the river side with a walking path along the river.  You will see the river cruise boats and enjoy a beautiful view.

On 2nd Ave, you will come across more than a handful of fun shops.  From eclectic, artsy boutiques to anitque stores.  From spas and delis, this little town offers you many choices.  My absolute favorite place to visit was Knoke’s, where we enjoyed yummy frozen treats.

We also looked through a store called Dilly Dally in the Alley.  I wasn’t sure what to think of this store.  At first I thought it was a toy store.  Then, I decided maybe it was a baby store.  Or a bookstore?  Or…..well, I wasn’t quite sure.

Whatever it was, it was fun!  And we enjoyed every minute of the 2 hours we spent together snooping around Hudson.

Hudson is adorable.  The roads go up the hillside and wind themselves into a twisted knot, but at least it’s a pretty view.

Hudson is fun.  It is fun for adults and it’s fun for families.  Just a little outside of the Twin Cities, it is a close retreat!

On a side note:  Hudson is so close to the Twin Cities that when we come home from my in-laws, I can’t wait to make it to Hudson because then I know I am almost home (never mind that I still have over a 1/2 hour until I’m actually at my doorstep).

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in Hudson, Things to do in the Twin Cities, Travel Twin Cities, WI. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

