St. Paul : Alexander Ramsey House

courtesy of mnhs website

Alexander Ramsey was the first governor of Minnesota. Thus, the county I now live in is named for this man–Ramsey.  I have also named my teddy bear from my dad Ramsey.  Not Alexander, just Ramsey.

The first Minnesota governor’s house that he shared with his wife, Anna, and his daughter, Marion, is still preserved today.  It was one of the highlights of my 6th grade field trip.  After touring the Victorian Era house, I believe we had lunch there in the “courtyard.”  I don’t know if they called it the courtyard, but that seems much more sophisticated than just backyard.

I think we had an apple.

The house is located in the Irvine Park neighborhood (St. Paul is filled with neighborhoods) and it took 4 years to build–from 1868 to 1872.

Man, they were patient back then.

No raising a house in one week for them!

Maybe we should learn a thing or two from the ol’ gov’na.

The Minnesota Historical Society has preserved the Alexander Ramsey House and offers tours to the public (for a small fee) at Christmastime.  They also offer scheduled school field trips and have summer day camps for young women and men who are interested in experiencing the life of a child growing up in the late 1800’s.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in Alexander Ramsey, history, St. Paul, travel Minnesota. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

