Innocent War Book Review

While this is a paid review, all the opinions and thoughts are solely mine and thoroughly truthful.


I was giving the privilege of reviewing a juvenile fiction book called Innocent War.
It was written by Susan Violante and published in 2011.

Born and raised in Venezuela from Italian immigrants, Susan completed a BA degree in Political and Administrative Cs. before moving to the US.

Although she has built a career as a Business Analyst / Accountant, she also has kept herself active as a Freelance writer in the US.

Innocent War is based during World War II. It is written from the perspective of a boy who lives in the Italian colonies of Tripoli Libya. I have read many books and watched many books regarding World War II, but this is the first one that I have ever read from the perspective of an Italian–much less an Italian living in North Africa.

Nino experiences hunger, treacherous bombings, arrests and disappearances of neighbors, an arduous trek through the desert to find his dad, hopping from place of “safety” to the next and all that a young man about to turn 12 experiences.  He must help his mamma take care of his little sister, and he uses his problem solving skills to bring a little extra food to the table.

What I liked about Innocent War

  1. The perspective of an Italian during the war and the innocence that was stripped from him.  And  yet, he still maintained a little naivety.  Maybe he was in denial, but the horrors of war stunned and scarred him and yet he still had a good heart. 
  2. His mamma was a very strong and determined and kind woman–taking in a young jewess who not only was an extra mouth to feed but a danger to their family if they were found out. 
  3. I couldn’t put it down.  I just want to know what Nino was going to experience next.  It was like I was actually hearing an 11 year old tell me his story. 
How Innocent War could improve
  1. The marketing should be focused on literature for boys and young men.  It’s really written well for boys to read.
  2. Some of the phrases and paragraphs were bit simplistic:  some unnecessary details were added.  On the trek across the desert, we are told about every progression of the suitcases.  It didn’t make the story move along.  It was just an extra piece of information. 
Innocent War is not a book that I would not normally choose to read, but I’m glad I did as it opened my eyes even more to the atrocities and daily horrors of World War II.
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in book review, Innocent War. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Innocent War Book Review

  1. Thank you for your thoughts about my book and your suggestions for improvements! I am glad you enjoyed the story and am honored you read my book. Love your blog too, and just subscribed to it.

    Best Wishes,

    Susan Violante

Leave a Reply

