don’t be Stuck in the House

When I have company come over…in the middle of winter…in Minnesota, we have to figure out some things for people to do or we go stir crazy! 
Even ME and it’s MY house!
My girls are too loud.
My boys are too whiny.
Everyone is running around the house like crazy people and I can’t take it.

So we make plans.
Plans to leave the house.
Even when it’s 50 degrees below zero.

It’s worth all the coats and hats and mittens and gloves and boots.
Trust me.

Everyone will be so much happier if you structure your guests’ visit just a little.

  1. We plan one excursion outside of the house per day that everyone can enjoy.  A child friendly muesum, an indoor playground, swimming (although this one I don’t recomment until they are all aware of water and can obey well)
  2. We have separate grown up time and kid time.
  3. We make simple meals.  Lots of soups and casseroles that can be made ahead of time.
  4. Since we don’t have a dishwasher, we use paper plates at some meals.  (not all the meals, but some)
  5. We divide and “conquer.” A couple of kids with me.  A couple with daddy or the guests.  That way everyone gets some focused attention.

When all else fails, we banish the kids to the play room!

Enjoy your guests while they are with you.  Read cues they are sending and be sensitive to their different preferences.

I am learning this all. the. time!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in company, entertaining, guests. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

