Cookbooks Every Mama Should Have

Whether you are a willing cook or not, it is essential to eat.
If you want to save some money, it’s important that occassionally you eat at home.
Something prepared at home.
Eat something you made.
Or your husband.
But either way, more than likely, you will prepare something yourself at home.
Even if it is just a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.
Unless, of course, someone is allergic to peanuts (or jelly), therefore rendering that argument obsolete.
However, even in my digression, my point can still be made.
One day, in the not so distant future, you will prepare a meal.
Of some sort.
Be it allergen-free or not.

I recently purged my home of unneccessary cookbooks. 
The cookbooks that never get opened.
The cookbooks that you think maybe one day I would like to open.
And then you never do?

Yes, those.

However, in this purging, I have decided that every kitchen must have at least three cookbooks–give or take.  You may need more, but I can almost guarantee, you won’t need less.

  1. Fanny Farmer or Betty Crocker.  I had both.  I may still have both.  These two “ladies” have the most basic cookbooks out there.  If you need to learn to cook just by reading a book, then you better have one of these.  They are so absolutely basic that they tell you what a teaspoon is and what a measuring cup is and how to sift flour.  Everything!  These books tell you when your meat is properly cooked and what to subsitute if you run out of an ingredient.  Their recipes are bland (read tasteless–except for the chocolate torte, I really oughta make that again), but their cooking advice is priceless.
  2. A 4-H cookbook.  It doesn’t matter what state or city or club it’s from.  What matters is that you have one.  These recipes are some of the easiest and tastiest recipes tried.  For example:  Cheesy Barbecue Beef Casserole.  One of my familie’s favorite recipes.  Good old Anoka County 4-H Cookbook.  Doesn’t it sound fantastic?  Trust me it is.  Another example:  Monster Cookies. Thank you Rock County 4-H.  Oh, yes.  12 dozen cookies!  That’s 144 cookies for those of you who may be like me and need to understand the magnitude of the cookie monstrousity.Were they delicious?  Was it almost impossible to mix?   Yes to both.  In my defense, I didn’t want to cut it in half because (and this is the only reason) it called for 3 jars of peanut butter.  I didn’t know how to properly cut that in half.  Honestly!  I am not lying!  Maybe next time I will just eyeball it!   And yes, I have two 4-H cookbooks.  If you got a treasure, why not have another one?
  3. Last but not least The Pioneer Woman Cooks. I am so enamoured with my cookbook.  I have only had it for 5 months, but because most of meals come from her book, it is a disaster.  Grease splatters everywhere.  Tomato sauce dumped on more pages than I can count.  Napkins stuffed in between pages as bookmarks.  Let me tell you, this book is well used.  I’ve decided that her food is comfort food.  Everyone needs a cookbook that speaks comfort food to them.  Her chicken pot pie, her lasagna, her homemade meatballs, her cinnamon rolls, her pot roast.  These are meals that satisfy.  And even though her meals may not be the easiest to make, her sense of humor and her step by step directions provide me enough confidence that I am secure in the endeavour. And for the most part, I am successful!  (And that, I must tell you, is completely AMAZING!)

So there you have it, a basic how-to-cook cookbook, a tried and true proven meals cookbook (or 2), and a comfort food cookbook.

If you have these three different types, you will be successful.

I promise.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in 4-H, Betty Crocker, cookbooks, cooking, Fanny Farmer, The Pioneer Woman. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cookbooks Every Mama Should Have

  1. My mom had the Betty Crocker cookbook. But I must admit, I've never owned one!
    In fact, now I do most of my cooking online. LOVE tasteofhome.com! As for the spatters of which you spoke – the ones all over the Pioneer Woman's cookbook – that is my fear. Since I prepare meals with my computer on the counter, I am ever.so.careful!!! LOL

Leave a Reply

