Kudos to Kohl’s

This year, I have made the decision to buy no new clothes.  I can buy at a thrift store or do a clothing swap or receive a gift, but I am not going to buy new clothes (idea received from Amanda–thank you!).  However, this does not include socks, underwear, or shoes. 

The other day, I went to Kohl’s because my mother-in-law had sent me a $50 Kohl’s cash gift (she had earned it by getting our children clothes–so she doubly blessed me).  She told me that I could buy anything for the kids or myself that I wanted (or Chris, too).  After much deliberation, I decided that I would use it for shoes for myself. 

So I went in, tried on 50 pairs of athletic shoes, marveled at the fact that Storygirl, Sir, and Squirt played quietly among the shoes, and finally decided on a pair.  I went to the counter with my Kohl’s cash and realized that it had expired 12 days prior!
TWELVE DAYS!
I had looked for an expiration date and had never found it! 
Until now?

Oh, brother.
When the cashier saw that it contained every last penny that was orginally on it, she said, “No problem, I’ll see if I can still use it.”
Her manager approved it and I walked out of the store with completely free shoes.

Thank you, Kohl’s.

In my experience, Kohl’s takes care of you.  Even scatterbrained mothers.
What has been your experience?

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in clothes, Kohls, Kohls cash, shoes, thrift store. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kudos to Kohl’s

  1. I love Kohl's too!!! Wish I had one in my town though. The closest one to me is 45min away.

    YAY for kind cashiers and managers!!!

    You're a brave, brave woman for vowing not to buy clothes for a year. I'm not sure if I could make it. It's not like I buy clothes all the time, but it never fails that I ruin a nice shirt or pair of pants at least once every 90days. :o)

  2. Simone says:

    You should check out http://beautyandbedlam.com (it's a blog of a mom who is really good at saving money, but still buying pretty clothes and getting deals at grocery stores that are amazing.)

Leave a Reply

