Momaphones

Working at a doctor’s office is like working nowhere else.
Where else can you go to find someone speaking to themselves or to their pockets multiple times a day without thinking anything of it? 
At first I had no IDEA what they were doing when I would approach them with a question or for a signature.  Many times I would completely interrupt them so oblivious to their actions.  They would roll their eyes and just humor this rude young lady.

However, now I have grown wise in all my years at the clinic.
For those of you who are wondering why you go see these strange people who talk to themselves constantly.  Let me tell you.
They are dictating. 
So that a computer or another person can type up their notes. 

Isn’t that brilliant? 
Because, believe you me, you do not want your doctor typing up their own notes.  Oh, it’s just painful thinking about.  I can picture some of my docs doing just that, and truly it makes me cringe.

In the interest of full disclosure, I must admit that they are not my docs anymore since I have decided to stay at home with my kids, but I do  believe that in my heart they will always and forever be my docs.

Now that I am blogging, I have decided that I need one of these devices.  Many a time I have thought of a great post idea.  Without writing it down, I lose it.  Sometimes it comes back, but rarely.  

But even as a mom, I would love to carry something like that around so that I can keep track of my superstars moments.  Wouldn’t that be awesome?

“October 14, 2011 Dash stayed dry all day.”

“October 15, 2011 Wordgirl and Princess Pea passed Level One Swimming and will be progressing to Level Two next session.”

Seriously! 
For those of you who have them, it should be an app on your smartphone or iphone.  For those of us who don’t, we should get them when they come out with an app like that. 

Is there one?  Otherwise, I am going to come up with a Momaphone app myself!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in dictaphones, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Momaphones

  1. librariane says:

    Psst–check out this item at the app store!

    I'm moving towards the smart phone plunge, so I may keep this one in mind.

    And then again, maybe not. [grin]

Leave a Reply

