Halloween Take Back

Halloween is coming and it will be here in a month.

Are you ready?

Because I certainly am.

Are you ready for the list of things I have done?

1.  Determined with the kids what they want to be.
2.  Confirmed with the kids what they want to be.
3.  Argued with the kids about good ideas for their costumes.
4.  Finalized with the kids that these indeed will be their costumes.
5.  Called my mom to say, “Okay, this is what we’ve got!” and placed our order for their custom-made costumes.  (I know.  I’m totally spoiled!  But I must tell you that there is no way to do a last minute costume.  We have to be a month out!  So technically, we were cutting it close!)

Every year our church puts on a Harvest Festival–ie Halloween Party.  But you can’t call it that because that would be sinful. 

Oh, our church is not the only one who does this.  I think every church in Minnesota who hosts some kind of fall party that invites costumes and candy calls it something different–but what they have in common is that they avoid the word Halloween…like the plague.

For Example, I have heard of The Pumpkin Patch, the Fall Frolic, and ours, of course, the Harvest Festival (which is really funny being that we are located in completely surrounded suburbia without a harvesting farm anywhere near us)

I’ve decided that I don’t like this celebration.

Not because I boycott Halloween.  (I boycott the evil, demonic, dark things–you know what I’m talking about,  the things that aren’t lovely, pure, true, and noble–but I like the idea of dressing up in costume)

Mostly, I can’t handle the chaos.  I can’t handle the masses of people milling around trying to pick up their candy.  I can’t handle the masses of people in the carnival.  I can’t handle the cranky babies (who happen to be mine) who are tired of waiting through the chapel time.  I. Just. Can’t. Handle. It.

So this year, I’m not going to go.

I guess I’ve become a snob.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Halloween Take Back

  1. I don't blame you!

    Our church has the “fall festival”. and I normally paint faces. The time goes by SUPER fast and I get to meet lots of cute kids. They have to sit still to get a cute painting on their face, so it's a win-win.

    We do hand out candy @ our house b/c our neighborhood is one of THE neighborhoods to go to on Halloween. My husband goes all out! He dresses up, decorates the front porch. I don't do a thing. I will walk outside once in a while to ohhh and ahhh at the princesses and batmen and spidermen who grace our door… but that's about it. ;o)

  2. OH! And HANDMADE costumes! Score! :o)

  3. Bren says:

    They are not having it this year so you won't disappoint your children.

  4. Our church does “Trunk or Treat”. Just candy in the trunks of cars in the parking lot – and no “scary” costumes.
    But I have never been to it.
    Since moving to our current house four years ago, I hardly “do” Halloween at all.
    The kids do.
    And our neighborhood does.
    But we are on the corner at the entrance to the neighborhood and it's just “too far” for most kids to walk for only one peice of candy. So they skip us.

    Oh well. I survive. *wink*

Leave a Reply

