Internet Tips for Moms

The internet can be awesome.  The internet can be helpful.  The internet can make your life easier!

On the flip side, the internet can waste a lot of useful time.  The internet can give you the wrong information, and the internet can be confusing.

So how do we use this cool tool that we have without wasting our life away or being misled?

  1. If it has to do with your medical care, do not use the internet.  When it comes to your healthcare, call your doctor.  Internet credibility is so questionable.  Unless you log into a doctor’s medical journal website, you don’t know anything about the information you are reading.  Even on sites like WebMD.  WebMD is good for broad answers like what do bed bug bites look like?  WebMD cannot diagnose if you have bed bug bites.  Let me say it again, if you have a medical question regarding pretty much anything:  Call your doctor. 
  2. There are a lot of money saving websites out there.  Lots of them.  Pick one or two that have worked for you and stick with them.  Going to dozens of different sites may save you a few dollars, but what about all that time you have used.  Yes, we are called to be good stewards of our money, but there are other resources that we need to manage as well. For instance, our time, our relationships (with our children and with our spouse and our friends, etc), our health (both mental and physical), and our ministries/work.  I, personally, don’t find being on the internet for 4 hours a day to save money a good investment.  Why?  Because I get really (and I do mean REALLY) crabby with the kids.  They don’t want a virutal mom.  They want a present mom.
  3. My most important tip (even more so than calling your doctor instead of self diagnosing), is when you have small children at home and you need to be productive on your computer/internet–because let’s face it, usually it is the internet–pick 2 hours each day and call it your personal computer time (maybe you can think of something more catchy).  And stick with it.  I have an hour during quiet time and an hour after everyone goes to bed (this does not include my freelancing time).  I check my email, make my grocery lists, hop on facebook, etc.  That way I can be a present mom and still do my best to stay on top of things.

Now, by no means am I perfect at this!  Far from it! These are just some tips that I try to live by.

How do you manage the internet in your home?

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in healthcare, internet, moms, saving money, time management. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Internet Tips for Moms

  1. librariane says:

    Something we're going to keep trying is 'no Internet Sundays'. This takes major planning and we haven't always been successful… and we're only going for one day. Some families go for the whole weekend!

    I'm hoping we'll have it established by the time we have our kids.

  2. These are great tips for parents. I personally believe that the internet is a great tool, but can also be our downfall.

    I'm a new subscriber, stopping by from The Guide. 🙂

    Echo

  3. MomMye says:

    I also have 2-3 internet hours a day! You're right, it could be such a big waste of time if not controlled. It happened during my first week of staying at home and one of the big lesson learned.

  4. These are such great tips – as you say the internet can be so wonderful…. and so overwhelming and wasteful all at the same time!! Thanks for putting the obvious in our faces 🙂

    Here from the guide – just became a new subscriber and looking forward to reading more 🙂

Leave a Reply

