I am not a perfect mama

To: My Neighbor who thinks way too highly of me
From: The Least Perfect Mama in the Entire World

PhotobucketIt’s time to tell you, my friend, just how not perfect I am. 

You like to tell your daughter that when I call the children into the house for supper, they drop everything and come in.

This, I can assure you, is completely misleading. 

Not only do they not come running. Not only do they start to cry and fuss.  Not only do they complain that they have to stop playing. 

But generally, I have to chase one or more around the house and threaten (big time) that they are going to starve to death if they do not come NOW!  It doesn’t matter if they don’t want to.  If you don’t come, you don’t eat, and there will be no snack for you, mister!  Just try me!

Honestly, I can’t believe you haven’t observed this regular occurence.  This almost daily occurrence.  By the way, how do you spell occurrence/occurence?

My dear friend, I would  also like to assure you that my children are rarely in bed by 8:00, so there should be no exclaiming that at 8:00 the lights are always out–no exceptions.

Oh, no. 

Nothing could be further from the truth.

8:00 is my goal.

8:00 is my destination.

8:00 is a nice theory.

But does 8:00 happen? 

Hardly!

We are lucky to be finishing reading by 8:30 and convincing everyone that sleep is really what they would like to participate in.  Sometimes we are even lucky to be reading.

So no!  We do not get our kids to bed by 8:00.

8:00 is so highly elusive that if we catch it, Chris and I do a happy dance, spring for Culvers or Dairy Queen, and watch movies into the wee hours of the morning.

Okay, so maybe not. 
No, we are much too old for that. 
What we really do is dance a happy dance, eat ourselves whatever munchy food we can find, and start sawing logs before we can even say “Good Night!”

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am not a perfect mama

  1. librariane says:

    “spring for DQ” — LOL

  2. Kira says:

    You are living my life. Except, I'm pretty sure my neighbors are under no illusions about me being the perfect mom. I'm pretty sure they hear me hollering on a regular basis.

    Fun fact: My husband and I DO spring for DQ on a regular basis. It usually goes like this “I'll go get you a blizzard if you put the kids to bed” and he says “Deal!” and then we get fat. It's a good system.

  3. Kari says:

    Love it! I'm wondering if we could shoo all the boys to bed at 8 tonight (in 7 minutes) and spring for DQ. I've already screwed up my day with food, why not top it off! LOL

    Found you through Kissing the Joy's blog!Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

