What Does a Vegan Believe and Why Is It Important?

To: Any Vegan who  is willing to engage in discussion with someone who has a lot of questions and is not trying to give you the third degree

From: Someone who just doesn’t get it.

And I don’t.  Veganism is not popular as in the vast majority of the world is doing it.  Not even the vast majority of the US is doing it.  I bet the vast majority of any country are not vegans.

For those of you who don’t know what I’m talking about, let me enlighten you (as you probably should know what this is.)

A Vegan is an extreme vegetarian.  Where vegetarians don’t eat meat, vegans don’t eat meat or biproducts from an animal. 

Including but probably not limited to: eggs
                                                        milk
                                                        butter
                                                        cheese
                                                        cream
                                                       half and half (okay, you get the idea)
                                                       honey

Honey?

Really? 

Can someone please explain that to me? 

It’s not like the honey comes from the bee’s body.  Nectar is held in the bee’s mouth (for lack of a better word) and spit out.  Then, the bees in the hive dance on it.  (Thank you The Cat In The Hat Knows A Lot About That and The Magic Schoolbus)  It’s not coming out of their body as a bodily fluid.  They are holding the nectar in their natural carrying sacks.

At least that’s the way I look at it.  What am I missing? 

And what is the advantage of the vegan way of life?  What does it do for you?

I don’t get it.

I’m not trying to be difficult.  I’m really trying to understand.

If vegans won’t eat a natural sweetener like honey, is refined white sugar a better sweetener?  I wouldn’t think that is what they believe.

But my biggest question is:  What about breastfeeding?

My suspicion is that formula is not an option.  But I do believe we are considered animals.  And I do believe that breastmilk is an animal byproduct. 

And if breastmilk is an approved animal byproduct, what makes it so? 

Because in nature, there animals who raise babies that are a different breed or even species.

So I guess I don’t get why it’s okay for nature to do it and not us.

Honestly, I’m not trying to pick a fight.  I seriously want to understand what they believe and why it is so important!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Does a Vegan Believe and Why Is It Important?

  1. You have a great point w/ the breastfeeding… I Never thought about that!

    I really don't get it either… I would think it VERY difficult to lead a truely vegan lifestyle…

  2. ~natalie says:

    vegan is pretty hard. i have had a few friends on/off in my life that have adhered to this diet. not sure what everyone would say about the breast milk thing but the way i have always understood it is this ~ it's totally fine and encouraged to breastfeed because it's natural. it's designed for the baby. they don't eat other animal products as cow's milk is for calves not humans, etc. don't quote this vegetarian on any of this but that is how my friends explained it to me. hope that helps.

  3. Jess says:

    If you're truly wanting to learn about this, and not just being sarcastic… Here is a link with a ton of information (it is very long), at least scroll down to point number 6 (dioxins). The comments at the end are an interesting read too. I am not a vegan, or even a vegetarian, but I've done a lot of reading on nutrition.

    http://prebabyblog.com/2011/01/meat-is-murder/

Leave a Reply

