First Day of First Grade

To: My Wordgirl–You make me smile!
From: Your mama who is so proud of you!

 So the first day of first grade is safely tucked under our belts. There was someone in our house that couldn’t wait for this day.  She couldn’t wait for the bus.  She couldn’t wait to see her friends.  She wasn’t worried at all about what was going to happen.  NO nerves at all.

And then there was Wordgirl. 

This is the grown up picture.

And this is the crazed picture!

As we were waiting for the bus to appear:

Mama:  You know what?  I don’t think I’m gonna cry!
Wordgirl:  Good for you, Mom!

However, there were some tears and glares. 
But none of them were mine. 
I give you Exhibit A:
 
I am a bit unsure of the glares, but Dash was not impressed with Mr. T (the boy who waits at the same bus stop with Wordgirl).  If you look closely at Princess Pea, she is holding on for dear life. 
As soon as the bus pulled away with Wordgirl safely inside, the sobs erupted from her little chest.  Her best friend was leaving her–oh, what was she to do?
Okay, so that was a little bit heart breaking.
But we managed very well indeed.
Fast forward to lunch.
I volunteered for lunch room duty for the first couple days of school.
AAAAHHH!
What was I thinking? 
This:
insane
chaotic
nerve-racking
insane
outtacontrol (and yet strangely in control at the same time)
hungry
whaddayou mean I need to write their number on a piece of paper for them?  don’t you think there is a better way/flaw in the system?
insane
And yet, whenever I looked up at the lunch lady serving, she was always completely calm, cool, and collected. She had at least a hundred children at a time surrounding her and she was happily serving away their macaroni and cheese. 
Without breaking a sweat.
Meanwhile there was me. 
As I stare blankly at one of Wordgirl’s classmates, me:  you don’t know your number?
classmate:  no
Dumb stare of what are we gonna do?
With a sudden realization that I am holding the school list of lunch numbers,
me:  Oh, um, yeah,  I have it right here!
When my line was completely finished, I looked at one of the 3 lunch ladies (there are only THREE lunch ladies for over 700 kids–I find this unbelievable).
And then, I uttered the words I had been wanting to say for 45 solid minutes.
Me:  I gotta go.
Lunch Lady J:  Okay, yeah.  Thanks for your help.
Me:  No problem.  I will see you tomorrow.
Lunch Lady J (with a huge sigh of relief):  Oh, great!  Thanks so much!
Am I dreading tomorrow?
Yep.
You bet I am!
But am I dreading it with a smile on my face?
Nope!
Okay, totally just kidding. 
I am.
I’m grinning like a chesire cat because I have the best little 1st grader in the world!
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Day of First Grade

  1. Arletta Rue says:

    yeah for Maya… and my heart goes out to Brin !!

Leave a Reply

