Organizing the Basement Week 4

The basement–oh, the basement.
Have you ever had the feeling that you will never accomplish anything?
I’m starting to feel that way.
Because even though I have spent about 3 hours (I know it’s supposed to be 4, but I’m just being honest) organizing and trying to clean, I feel like it still looks like this

When in reality this is what has happened.
Now, I know that these are pictures from last week.
Never fear, I did work on the basement this past week
And work, I did.
Let me just show you the fantastic progress I made.

Once again, I feel like it looks just as bad if not even worse.
But let me assure you (as I assure myself) that this is not the case.

  1. I moved the door from one side of the room to the other.
  2. Chris’s pile of stuff is getting bigger
  3. I added the last shelf that we own to the other pantry shelves.  Never mind the fact that I couldn’t figure out how to connect the shelves together.  No, that does not matter.  I just persevered through it and mashed it up against the already-correctly-put-together shelves.
  4. I decided that I want to paint the basement because, let’s face it, the only way that it’s going to look fresh is if we put a fresh coat of paint on it.
  5. I pulled our sheets out of the dresser and placed them on shelves.
  6. I, then, put the dresser at the bottom of the steps with every intention to haul it up later. Later has just not arrived yet.
  7. I worked in this room.

I know you are supposed to work in one area at a time, but I needed to change it up a bit.
And I was pulling together Princess Pea’s and Dash’s preschool stuff, so I figured that counted for something in the basement clean-up effort.
So there you have it, folks, the basement.  Maybe this week, I will clean the floor.  Maybe I will paint.  Aren’t you just giddy with anticipation?
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in environment, family, organizing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Organizing the Basement Week 4

  1. “Later just hasn't come yet.”
    I am sooooo going to use that line! *wink*

  2. Melissa says:

    Maybe if I blogged about cleaning the basement, I would actually work on mine! I'm scared to go down there!

Leave a Reply

