A Not So Good Treat

To Mothers of Toddlers/Preschoolers
From one who just discovered

There are good treats and there are not so good treats.  Usually this information is obvious.  But you would be surprised how often a not so good treat emerges when you first thought, “Oh, that would be a great idea!”

For example, good treats consist of crackers:  animal, graham, soda, buttery, iced, etc. Good treats also consist of different types of cookies.

Now, I know what you are saying.  You are saying, “I would NEVER feed my child refined sugar or high fructose corn syrup.”

Or quite possibly you are saying, “Right on, sista!  That’s all my child will EAT!”

I understand your dismay (if you are one of the former), and if the latter agrees so wholeheartedly with me, I may need to post about nutrition. 

However, I want to assure you that this post about good treats has nothing, and I mean absolutely nothing, to do with nutrition and poisoning with bad nutrition.

This post has everything to do with common sense.  And apparently, when I am surrounded by 2 young ones demanding my every attention, I do not possess such a characteristic.

Let me explain.

We went to the park for something special to do with the boys since they have been abandoned by the girls.  To leave the park, I had a stroke of genius!  Genius, I say! 

Mama–hey, Dash!  When we get home, we will have ice cream!
Dash–Ice cream?
Mama–Yep!  Ice cream! Now, get into your seat!

I figured he would like that.  What I didn’t expect was his insistence that it be an ice cream cone

Oh, well.  What harm could it do?  I only had to pay attention to him and JackJack.  He could most definitely have a cone. Here I go again thinking 2 was easier than 4!

Except that when the littlest saw his big brother getting a cone, he wanted one.  And JackJack was not happy with just a cone.  He wanted ice cream too.  So I appeased him.  I put him in his booster chair, gave him a teeny tiny scoop of ice cream in his cone, and voila!  Happy boys!

Until Dash wanted me to eat his cone down so he could get to his ice cream.

And JackJack’s ice cream had melted into a small puddle in the cone.

And Dash wanted me to eat his cone down so he could get to his ice cream.

And I had to break JackJack’s cone into pieces so he would eat it.

And Dash wanted me to eat his cone down so he could get to his ice cream.

And JackJack started chucking the cone pieces off his tray and into (of all places) my clean laundry!

Of course!

Word to the wise:  Do not put clean laundry anywhere near where a child can get his grubby hands on it or for that matter chuck sticky ice cream cone pieces into it!

So even if the treat seems harmless, there might be repercussions you haven’t even considered yet! Ask yourself, “What could they possibly do with this snack/treat? Can this treat smear on the walls?  Can it break into pieces?  Can this treat cause jealousy between siblings?”  And most importantly, “Will this cause me to rewash an entire 2 loads of clean laundry?”

I’m just saying!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in dash, JackJack, life, pleas from a mama's heart. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Not So Good Treat

  1. Kira says:

    Ya, know, I can relate to this post. I tried bribing my four-year-old to take a nap by giving him a small portion of chocolate chips to eat in his bed.

    What? It seemed like a good idea at the time.

    All it got me was a child who laid in bed until his chocolate chips had been melted, wiped all over his bedding and himself, and eventually consumed. He then emerged quite refreshed and declared “I'm not tired anymore!”

    I guess it was worth a try.

  2. I am so sorry to be laughing at, er, WITH you right now.
    Just read the post to my hubby and son because they wanted to know why I'm laughing.
    We have sugar cones in the cupboard. I seem to have an urge to eat it now. *wink*

    LOVE YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

