Wisconsin Northwoods

Chris and I planned a vacation for our family this year.
It’s our first family vacation ever!
And by family vacation, I mean Chris, Gianna, Wordgirl, Princess Pea, Dash, and JackJack.  Basically, it was a party vacation.

It was planned in a rush because suddenly Chris was given 2 weeks off.  So we had a week to pull everything together.

Our plan: to go to the Northwoods of Wisconsin.  You may be asking why the Northwoods of Wisconsin.  Well, you see, we have some very good friends that live there.  They moved there less than a week ago. 

Did I say week?  I mean year.  They moved there less than a year ago.  A week is a bit much to impede upon a family with 3 children of their own while bringing along 4 more! 

But it wasn’t a week.  It was 10 months later.  Which is a bit better.

Our family vacation included camping, swimming, shopping (if you could call it shopping), fishing, and asking the all important question: did that sign really say ‘llama trekking?’

At first I thought it was kind of weird that our family vacation included visiting friends from college.  I don’t know what I thought was so weird about it, but for some reason I thought that it was odd.  Then, as the days progressed, I realized that going to visit good good GOOD friends for vacation is a PERFECT vacation.  You see, the first 2 days, we literally drove into town from our campsite and crashed at their house.  They didn’t have any expectations for us and we didn’t have any plans.  We were able to just let our guard down.  It was perfect.

Perfect, I tell you.
Because too much wilderness with this crew is quite exhausting!

We arrived Thursday night and I had promised Colleen that we would not show up until Friday morning.  What did we do?  Oh, yeah, we are THOSE friends who come over anyway!  How rude of us!  Chris needed a saw to cut some firewood, so we hung out at their house until 3/4s of our littles had to go potty!  And then I had to take them one by one to the gas station.  And this isn’t including them going to the bathroom in a corner of the backyard.  Did I mention that we are THOSE friends?  Because apparently we are.  Just like I’m the mom with the dirty kids when I said I would never be one of those!

Chris took Wordgirl to their church to use the bathroom and to sheepishly tell our friends that we were waiting at their house–just like we said we wouldn’t do! 

This was only the beginning of our WI Northwoods adventure!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in life. friends, vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wisconsin Northwoods

  1. You can come vist us on your next vacation. But the closest gas station is about a mile away from our house. So you probably ought to make sure we're here when you arrive.
    Our neighbors are decent. They might let your littles use their facilities. LOL

Leave a Reply

