Unfriending Facebook Friends

Yesterday I was going to write an update about our vacation from which we had just returned.  However, some things happened that caused that update to be delayed.

  1. It was about 110 degrees and I couldn’t breathe.  (okay so this is a bit of an exaggeration–Really it was 96 degrees.  I did find it hard to breathe but not because I am asthmatic.  It was more because it was so humid that it was impossible to breathe air and not drown on the water in the atmosphere!)
  2. I did 7 loads of laundry and washed the kitchen floor.
  3. I needed to balance the checkbook and realized that we are off by $1000.  In case you weren’t sure, that’s a lot of money.  Luckily, the bank says we have more than our checkbook does…but is my math that bad?  It must be!
  4. My heart was hurting because I unfriended someone on facebook. 

You may think this is crazy, but it has been hurting my heart; a lot.  I don’t want to go into the details of why I did it because I haven’t connected with my non-facebook friend friend. 

Who thought I would feel this horrible about unfriending her?  Me, that’s who. 

Maybe I should have told her I was going to do it.  Maybe I should not care what she thinks.  Whatever I should or should not do, the fact of the matter is that my heart hurts.  I had to set up some boundaries for the good of myself and for my family.

Facebook may be all virtual, but when it comes to friendships, it is not.  It should always be a big deal when you are connecting with someone whether it’s in person or on line.  We are still people and people have feelings.  No matter what.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in life. friends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Unfriending Facebook Friends

  1. I've had to do that. I've also “hidden” people before (which is a little less drastic) and I've blocked people (which is really drastic, but necessary sometimes.

    It does cause anxiety (at least w/ me) so you are being totally normal having those feelings.

  2. That is hard to do. I have felt the same way as I “denied” a friend request. Our friends list seems to encompass not only good friends, but acquaintances, and even sometimes people we have met one time along the way. I have “hidden” people too, but that doesn't stop them from keeping tabs on you…although, that challenge occurs when you have a blog too. Perhaps you could start fresh in Google + and only allow close friends in… 🙂

  3. Jenn says:

    Yikes, a $1000 is a lot of money around these parts, too!

    The first time I unfriended someone my heart hurt also. Along with a wide range of crazy emotions. Now if I have a FB friend and they use foul language, I don't hesitate to hit that “unfriend” button.

    What is even sadder is when I went to a former friend's page thinking that they were still on my friend's list and realized that they had, in fact, deleted me!!! I'm sure they didn't like my conservative and positive views! Haha!

  4. At least your math was 'bad' in your favor. It would be much worse the other way around. Especially if you spent that $1,000 you didn't have! *yikes!*

    I have created a small list of FB friends who can only see me as 'off-line'. Because they were constantly wanting to chat with me. I mean, I like to chat, but not every.single.time.I'm.on-line.
    I felt bad at first, but then I realized it's OK to set some boundaries.

Leave a Reply

