SisterFriends

I know I just was thinking about Friendship with you, but I’ve been thinking about it more.
This past year has been interesting with Wordgirl in school.  I have gotten to know a lot of different moms especially those in my Moms In Touch International group (okay, to be honest, the one other mom–yes, there were only 2 of us praying for Wordgirl’s school, but where two or more are gathered, there He is, right?)

This week we have been playing with a lot of Wordgirl’s school friends.  We went to the beach yesterday with one, went to another one’s house today, will be going to another one’s house tomorrow, and maybe even seeing her teacher the next day after that!  As I meet with these ladies (and some men–dads.  okay once again, it’s just been one, but still!  I shouldn’t exclude him.  He was pretty cool!), it has been a breeze talking to them and getting to know them. 

I am an extrovert, usually, and so if we have something in common–i.e. children–it’s super easy to strike up a conversation.  That’s not an issue.  What has been making me think is the fact that right now these relationships are very superficial.

That is totally where it needs to start.  I don’t want someone I just met to jump in and say, “Hi!  How are you?  Let me tell you about my life!  My dad died when I was 14 and I have never been able to connect with my mom since then and I’ve got real attachment issues.  My son is going to therapy every day because I can’t connect with him.  I don’t know what I’m going to do or how I’m going to get through the rest of the day.  Can you help me?”

No, I can honestly say, I would much rather ease into a relationship and build a common foundation before needing to be asked to help them.  This isn’t to say that sometimes that help needs to be requested and I need to be stretched, but mostly, I would rather take it slow with new friends.

However, as I was thinking about this, I realized that I am so glad that I have sisterfriends.  Those that I can ask anything of, and they will never be offended.  And if I get offended with them, I can just tell them and we work through it.  Not everyone has sisterfriends like that and I don’t know why I have been given such a gift of more than one.  There are those who live nearby and those farther away, but I can still call them to say, “I need you to talk me down!”  (I do this frequently with my SIL who I am so grateful for!)

Everyone needs a sisterfriend!  Start by praying for one and then, seek out ways you can be a sisterfriend for someone else.

On a different note, I gained a new sister-in-law yesterday!  My brother got married yesterday!  I am so happy for him and his wife.  My brother is a husband!  My brother has a wife!  YEEHAW!!!!! 
Congratulations, Andrew!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family moments, life. friends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SisterFriends

  1. librariane says:

    Yay for the wedding!

    And you know it goes both ways…

  2. What a blessing to have a SisterFriend. I am thankful for the ones in my life, too!!!

  3. gianna says:

    I know it goes both ways and I love you even more for it, SIL

Leave a Reply

