A Cooking Contest

Do you remember how I used to hate cooking?
That at 3:30 pm everyday (whether I was working in the office or at home) I would think, “Oh, no.  What are we going to eat for supper!”?

Suddenly, with the help of Mrs. Ree Drummond, I am no longer fearful.  The fear has been removed from my daily schedule.

The kitchen is my friend.

So much so that I have entered into a cooking contest.

Can you believe it?  ME!
Gianna!
ME!

Can you tell I’m in disbelief?

BlogHer and Knorr are partnering to host this contest.  I emailed them to tell them that I was interested and suddenly, I am a participant!  I am still in shock.  I am one out of 200 contestants.  If I am a selected to be one of 8 finalists, I would get to go to BlogHer San Diego!

When my package of Knorr Homestyle Stock was delivered, I ripped open the envelope and stared at it.

“What am I going to do with you?”
Chris was a little bit leary of my attempt to make something…..edible.
I’ve tried to come up with concotions in the past to no avail.  They were so bad that I couldn’t even choke them down.  We had no choice but to throw them away, and I HATE wasting food.
But this time, I looked at him and I said clearly, “Don’t worry.  I’ve learned a thing or two from the Pioneer Woman.  It’ll be awesome!”
However, for the next 2 days, I came up with nothing.  Let me just remind you that my days are slightly busy and these past few days were even busier as we were looking for a new car to buy so that Chris can pull his boat (ironically, the vehicle we finally chose–that we are so grateful for and love–does not have a hitch and Chris is not planning on getting one for another year as we cannot afford it until we pay off the vehicle!  Oh, the games we play!). 
All this to say, I didn’t have a lot of time to just sit down and create a recipe.
 
Then, it came to me.  I told the kids that I was making up supper and that it was for the contest.  Chris overheard me and grimaced.  Really, he was trying to be supportive, but honestly, my past failures speak very loudly.
I looked at him and said, “Don’t worry!  The Pioneer Woman’s got my back!”
And I went to work!
Now this is not gourmet or full of unknown ingredients.  It’s made by a mom who has limited time and from supplies most of us have in our pantries!

 I would like to present to you Mexican Fiesta Beans and Rice that even Ree Drummond would be proud of.  The photography–not so much–but the recipe–Oh, yeah!

Mexican Fiesta Beans and Rice

Feeds 2 to 4
Total Cook Time: 40 minutes

3 1/2 cups water
1 container  Knorr Homestyle chicken stock
1 cup of white rice
1 can black beans–drained
1 can tomatoes with green chiles (I like the kind with lime and cilantro)–drained
2 cups of cheddar
Juice from 1/2 a lime
2 tablespoons of cilantro

Heat water to boiling.  When it’s boiling, stir the Knorr Homestyle chicken stock until it dissolves.  Once dissolved, stir in rice.  Lower heat to a simmer and let it simmer for 20 minutes.  After it has simmered, drain whatever remaining water is in the pot and put the cover on and let it sit for 10 minutes to absorb excess liquid.  When the rice is finished resting, stir in black beans and tomatoes.  Add one cup of cheddar and stir until melted.  Add the lime juice and cilantro and stir, but don’t overmix.  Garnish with the remaining cheddar.

We added 1 pound of shredded chicken and wrapped it in tortillas, but it works well as a casserole type dish without the chicken as well.

And there you have it.  If you try this simple recipe, would you mind letting me know what you thought?  What it may have needed or what else you did with it?  I would love to hear.

Oh, and thank you, Pioneer Woman, for unknowingly giving me the confidence to attempt this.  You know not who I am, but maybe one day I will be able to thank you in person!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in contest, cooking brillance, on gianna's mind. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Cooking Contest

  1. Well, you go, girl!
    I can follow a recipe, and I can alter a recipe. But to make one up all on my own? I honestly don't think I've ever even attempted it.
    Call me chicken. *wink*

  2. Kira says:

    Oh, yay for you! I have never made up a recipe… ever, I don't think. I'm proud of you for being brave and going for it.

    I make something similar to this but I use quinoa instead of rice and it's one of my favorite lunches. When it's all done I usually chunk up some avocado and put that on top. Yummy! I just eat mine in a bowl though… the tortillas is a great idea. My kids would probably like it a lot more that way.

    Good luck! Even if you don't win, I hope you get ot go on a trip with your hubby. I haven't ever been on one with mine without a newborn or one in utero either! Morning sickness isn't exactly romantic. I can't WAIT to go on one kidless now that we are leaving the baby stage behind. I can't believe I just said that… it didn't feel like it would ever happen.

Leave a Reply

