Instead of making Potato Salad

Right now I should be chopping celery.
I should be putting together our supper.
Because we are having potato salad!
Yes, you can ooh and aah over the fact that I am making homemade potato salad.
It IS just about the coolest thing ever.
You mean, potato salad doesn’t just come from the deli?
Amazingly, no!  You can TOTALLY make it!
And my friend, Fanny Farmer, would like to give you an easy recipe how.

Maybe someday she will.

Today, she will not since I am completely ignoring her to type this up for you.

First of all, I want to thank my new blogger friend, Kira, for information that I otherwise did not have.
On her post, You Might be A No-Reply Commenter (or something like that) she explains how to make it possible so that I can email you RIGHT back with your comments on my blog.  I want to start a conversation with each of you.  I am really NOT trying to ignore you, but I don’t usually like to respond to my comments on my blog ON MY BLOG because do you really check back for them?  Some of you (Karen) DO, but I am not one who usually does, so if you don’t mind, please check this post out!  It is DOGGONE helpful.

And I love her for it!

I might just love her, too.

But it is much too soon for that!

I, also (before I get my awake 14 month old out of his pack n play), want to tell you a funny story.  Once again.  This is not about my super stars since you can read about them at Sweet Peas & Buddies

But I want to ask you a question.

Have I grown up if I look forward all day to playing kickball in the backyard with our friends and then get super disappointed when it rains like a tsunami (wait–that’s not right.  What IS right?) and we can’t leave the house?  Well, technically, we had the freedom to use our feet and go outside and leave the house.  But would you want to leave the house with 7 children?  In the biting cold rain?  With the wind whipping through your rain-soaked clothes? And a guaranteed unhappily screaming 14 month old?

NO!

NO, you would not! 

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in friends, memories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Instead of making Potato Salad

  1. librariane says:

    In case folks are now REALLY craving potato salad, check out this recipe that I read about today while catching up on Google Reader.

    As for coming back to a blog, I do if I know the poster will respond to my comment. I have a few where this happens and I make it a point to see what they said in reply.

    I think it also depends on if I need to. Some blogs I comment on are crafty ones where a reply to my 'love your colors' comment wouldn't be necessary.

  2. Homemade potato salad just tastes better. Especially if you make it the day before!
    I made a similar discovery about baked beans once. (Similar to your “You mean, potato salad doesn't just come from the deli?” discovery.) Honestly didn't know you could get them anywhere except in a can! LOL

    As for the comment thing – I'm with librariane. If I know the poster responds to comments on the blog, I check back.

    Hope you get that kickball game in soon. *grin*

Leave a Reply

