Why Wait?

What are we waiting for?

Today, from a fellow Christ follower, I heard “If the government would just get out of the way, then the church could come in and do what it’s been called to do.”

My response to her was, “The problem is that the church could be doing it now and it’s not.”

See?  I’m not all about a one sided argument on the internet!

My question, as always, to you  is, “Why do we need to wait until the government gets out of the way?  Why can’t the church get started right now?”

The church has been called to help the poor and the oppressed and the orphans and widows.  The government hasn’t been called to help them. 

Since I have begun this tirade of calling out the church, I have visited a church that’s doing something about it.  They are offering community meals once a week.  They have a Community Service Center that is available for pretty much anything you need.  They have computers for job searching.  They have clothes for interviewing.  They have an agreement with a hotel for housing anyone without a place to sleep and the church pays just $30 each night.  They have more than that, but I don’t remember everything.

It’s amazing.  And I’m impressed.

Let’s get back to my original  thought:

How does the government doing what the church has been called to do stop the church?  Why do we need to wait?  What are we waiting for?

Am I missing something here?

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in the church. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

