"Saving" Money

A Pet Peeve Rebuttal:  You don’t save money if you have to spend more to get the savings.  Let’s say you need 2 cans of cream of chicken soup. Let’s say it is orginally 50 cents per can.  Are you with me so far?  Well, they happen to be on sale.  6 cans for $2.50.  That’s 8 and some odd cents less per jar.  But to get the deal, you have to buy 6.  You need 2. 

How is this saving you money?  If you have to spend $1.50 more to get the savings, you are spending more than you are saving.  This doesn’t make sense.

Now, granted most people could find a use for 4 more cans of cream of chicken soup.  This was probably not the best example of non-savings.

But you are all brilliant.  You know what I’m getting at. If it wasn’t originally on your list and in your budget, what are you going to sacrifice?  Will it be from next week’s grocery budget or will something come off your list this week?  Or will you always be playing this game of I’ll catch up with it later; never really doing just that?

I have been trying to be an extreme couponer, but I have decided that I have enough salad dressing.  I do not need anymore at this time.  Even if it is just 60 cents per bottle, I have 20 bottles, and I don’t need to spend money on it. 

There are a few things that I will sacrifice for if there is a good deal in order to stock up on it.  One of them being toilet paper.  When I was a kid, I was mortified that my mom would buy the biggest packages of toilet paper “ever!”  And now, look at me.  I am buying the biggest packages of toilet paper ever AND mulitples!  Oh, mother.  I’m ashamed of my embarrassment.  What a pity that I wasted so much energy being humiliated on something like toilet paper.

Another thing that I am trying to wrap my head around is Group-on.  I don’t exactly get it, but if I had seen the deal earlier, I could have gotten plane tickets for my entire family for less than $1000 to anywhere in the US (that this carrier provides service).  5 tickets for $900?  Awesome!  (JackJack doesn’t need a plane ticket right now because he can travel on our laps)  But it’s a good thing they were sold because as much as I wanted to buy those plane tickets to Chris’s sister in North Carolina, we need that $900 to fix our basement. See how this goes with “saving” money?
If you weren’t planning on it (and are without the resources to use), you are not saving money even though they say you are.

You are NOT!  You would be saving money if you were planning on getting those tickets all along (which one day, Carissa, we will be buying those tickets, I promise), but if you weren’t, you just spent $900 that you weren’t planning on spending.

Even if they say it’s a good deal, if you weren’t planning on spending that money, it’s NOT a good deal. 

Case closed.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in life, on gianna's mind. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to "Saving" Money

  1. I totally get it.

    I want to be an extreme couponer too… but it's close to impossible to do that since our only real grocery store is walmart.

    I've learned the secret to those extreme couponers… it's the “double coupon days”… otherwise… it's just not worth it.

  2. librariane says:

    I have an example that I can't remember the details anymore, so it's not really a good example… there was a radio commercial that was worded poorly and always made me cringe when the announcer talked about saving money.

    Gah, see? The example needs the details to be effective. But it goes to show that I get it.

    Can you donate your salad dressing to the local food pantry? 😉

  3. yes, you are so right… so so right. Plus, with coupons, I always feel like I can get generic cheaper anyways.

    Now with groupon… I have done it in the past, but only if it was something that I was planning to do anyway or had the money set aside for. But, your right, they want to get you to impulse buy.

    What to be wise girlie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

