Embarrassing Confession

My good sister friends know this (and you know who you are) as does my husband.
But in the effort to be open and real, I am going to confess it to the other 4 people who read my blog.
And each one of you four are special to me; Jeanette, Crystal, Joy, and the UnNamed Reader–it’s like the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier.  The UnKnown Reader could represent one or thousands.
I’m thinking that it’s not thousands.
But if you do stop by, can you tell me?  In person–thanks, Colleen–or on my blog.

So here is my confession
I want to be a writer.
I have wanted to be a writer since I was in — ohhhhhhhh, let’s see — 4th grade. 
From age 10 to age 15, my stories were all about a horse riding club (much like; okay, no.  Let me rephrase.  EXACTLY like the Babysitter’s Club only instead of babysitting, they all owned horses.  And one of the character’s names was Autumn Ann Anderson.  I thought I was so clever!  Oh, gag me!)
Then, I went to college and writing was to an activity to participate in to pass a class.
Then, I worked for 9 years of my life, had babies, and realized that I missed it.

So I have decided that I want to write.  Really write.  Like a book.  A book book: A book that has pages you can dog ear.  I have a writing mentor who is partnering with me monthly to sit and talk about what I have written. 

Herein lies the problem.

I don’t know what to write.  I have a GAGILLION stories about being a mom. I have surfacey thoughts about what I am studying in the Bible.  I have opinions about everything, and if I don’t have an opinion about it, then I have an opinion about not having an opinion.  Seriously. 
Did you follow that?  But nothing flows together. 

Two months ago, I came up with this awesome writing schedule.  And it looked like it was going to work, and then we had major birthdays, company, and the plague hit our house.  Currently, we are in survival mode until we get to the summer. 

How do I get back on track?  What do I write about? 

Augh!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in on gianna's mind, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Embarrassing Confession

  1. AllyJoy says:

    I think it is great you are pursuing writing a book! I have really no great wisdom except to say that some of your posts I most enjoy reading are the ones about when you were little. I don't think most people remember much of that time of their life-I certainly don't remember much. It is so fun and funny to read how you saw things and experienced life. My theme would be (if I were you): Growing up Gianna.

  2. librariane says:

    Oh man, I just read a post on another blog about childhood ambitions of writing!

    I have an artist's workbook that has some neat tips. I'll go see if I can find it and share some. The one I remember off the top of my head is to start each day with stream-of-consciousness writing so as to clear your head and gather your thoughts. Perhaps try writing a page of 'nothing' first each time and then you'll be able to focus!

  3. librariane says:

    Oh, and your younger writing self seems to be channeling The Saddle Club series. Or the Pony Pals series. Or the Thoroughbred series.

  4. Holly says:

    how about a children's book based on your children, or about one of their experiences…

    a fiction book about growing up in rural minnesota…

    a book of your blogs…

    I admire your persistance and your creativity. keep it up

  5. Bren says:

    What does it mean to be a writer? Write about how to be a woman of God, like you are, open and real or a wife who loves your hubby the way you do. What fun to know what you want to be when you grow up! I wrote books like the 'Mandie' series. 🙂

  6. I love that your following your dream! Good for you! It keeps you sharp and what an inspiration to your children.

    Can't wait to hear more of this exciting endeavor!

  7. Arletta Rue says:

    go back to the book “Little Women” … Jo was told to write what she knew………… don't exactly know where that will lead you … but it would make sense.

  8. Dan and Tara says:

    Hey. I read your blog! Why am I not listed? Huh, Gianna? 🙂

    When I grow up, I want to put your published book in the church library! That will be a really fun day.

    Any chance you want to write a children's book? You'd be great at that, too!

Leave a Reply

