Welfare and the Church

I was listening to Christian Talk Radio which is really more like the Preaching Station:  And I totally love it.  I was in between listening to Chip Ingram and James McDonald or maybe it was David Jeremiah and Woodrow Crowle.  (do you not just LOVE that name?)
It doesn’t matter. That’s not the point of my story. 

As I was in the van, Chuck Bentley from Crown Financial Ministries came on.  Keep in mind that I totally love Crown Financial Ministries.  I think their principles are amazing and right on target.

This minute segment had to do with our country’s welfare system: How the European system uses less money on each individual than the US does. 

Okay, fine. 

Then, he stated that our country’s welfare system was doing more harm than good for those who are down and out.

Okay, sure to some degree I agree with him.

And THEN, he said, “Don’t let the government take away what the church should be doing.”

Excuse me?  Since when is that an issue?  Don’t you think if the church really wanted to get involved in helping the poor, they would do it no matter what? 

The problem isn’t that the government took it away from the church.   The problem is that the church isn’t doing what it’s called to do.

All through the Bible God talks about taking care of the poor and the children and the widows.  If we are Christ’s ambassadors as followers of him, where does that responsibility fall?

Let me tell you.  The church!  Those of us who follow Jesus who come together as a body.
What is the point of the church?  To get together in pretty clothes, to see our friends, to sing the best songs?  Where does the church put it’s money?  In new buildings, in new sound systems, in gym equipment?

None of this is bad stuff.  But when it causes us to overlook the true purpose of God’s body (to worship him and care for those He created and loves), we are not only disregarding His call; we are sinning.

I have stated this before.  We are one WIC and we are on MA.  When I get my Explanation of Benefits, I get really mad that a doctor’s visit that costs $79 only gets $26.  I worked for doctors.  I know that the services they are give are worth more than $26.  Health is worth more. 

This bugs me, but not enough to go insurance-less.  Right now, with 4 young children and 2 with more chronic and serious health issues (not life threatening, but serious nonetheless), I would like them to be insured.

We went to our church for financial help once when Chris was in school.  We had been denied a school loan because he was taking just the 6 remaining credits that he needed. It was too much for us to afford, but we didn’t know what else to do since I was working full time and he was in school and working opposite school and we had 2 little girls.

You know what I was told by one of the pastors?  “Maybe he should take another couple of credits so he CAN take out a loan.” 

Thanks!
Thanks so much for your help.  Now I feel like a moron for asking for help.  Chris didn’t even want me to ask in the first place.

And that was why.

Churches can do a better job. Churches should do a better job.

But since they aren’t and our government (and I know a lot of it has to do with them making off of us) DOES provide help, it’s costing the taxpayer.

Show me a state where the church is doing it’s job and the government isn’t needed.
No?
Okay, show me a county where the church has got it covered.
No?
Okay, show me a city.
No?

Show me something and then we can talk.

Whether the government is helping or not, the church can make a big difference in its community.  If it’s doing its job right, it will surpass government help.  Don’t give me baloney about the government preventing the church from doing its job.

And  don’t hand out blanket statements about the poor when YOU are not helping to equip them.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in on gianna's mind, politics. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Welfare and the Church

  1. librariane says:

    I was thinking about this recently only because I haven't donated to my church lately (Chip's church has an automatic deduction feature). The last time I donated, I specified it should go to missions, but was debating if this time it should go in the benevolent fund.

    Your post has helped spur me towards the benevolent fund for this round!

  2. librariane says:

    Oh, and another thought: my church has been trying to do ministry with the aspect that if Faith Chapel were to fall apart and be no more, would Burlington miss us?

    I hope so.

  3. AllyJoy says:

    These are great thoughts. That's what made the early church so significant: the actually took care of others, burying the dead, helping the fatherless and widows. I love idea of a church truly considering if they would be missed by their community if they dissolved.

  4. gianna says:

    THe more I read this, I get more and more upset. I don't want to be all high and mighty, and I don't want to make other people feel bad, but AUGH! Quit talking and start doing.
    NOt you, Ruhama or Allyjoy, but in general. In my church.

    Let's start doing and STOP talking! I love the idea of making it a goal that your church wants to be missed if it didn't exist anymore!

  5. There has been an awesome movement going on in my area. It's called the Church of Greater Lansing – and it's a coming together of more than 30 churches in our area.
    For the past three years we've done a “Food Drop” in February. This year we delivered more than 7000 boxes of food to families around Lansing.
    I know there's a lot more the organizers are doing than the Food Drop, but I'm pretty sure that's the biggest event.
    The thing is, they realize we are the BODY of Christ and we need to come together to make a difference in our city.
    Still so much more to do, but I am delighted with what's happening.

    Love you!

  6. librariane says:

    This actually came up at Bible study yesterday afternoon. Jim was pointing out that if everyone in the church gave 10%, that's a LOT of money!

    I didn't mention your post, though I thought about it. 🙂

  7. Bren says:

    I think often less of the church doing it's job and more of am I doing my job as my part of the body, actually Steve thinks that.

  8. Anonymous says:

    My brother-in-law once told me that if everyone in the church would tithe as the bible has commanded then there would be no need for a welfare system, because the church would have more than adequate funds to help people. I totally believe that. As our church treasurer, our church as a whole is very good at tithing, but it seems the ones that do not tithe are the ones that always need the help. Hmmm-connection?

    Tammy, SD

  9. Simone Currie says:

    Gianna, instead of buying pricey health insurance, have you looked into a (much cheaper and faith based) program called Samaritan Ministries? It's what our family does, and it's much more cost effective than regular insurance AND it also provides you with ways that are built into your payment that help other christian families with their health needs.

  10. gianna says:

    Yep, Simoney-O! I would L.O.V.E. to be a part of Samaritan's Ministries, but being the both Princess Pea and Dash have pre-existing conditions, they probably wouldn't get covered. I totally LOVE the philosophy of Samaritan's Ministries and I think that's exactly how the church is called to be!

  11. Anonymous says:

    This is an interesting post. I agree with you on some level, but also believe that there is a lot of giving going on through some anonymous hearts… things you probably don't see. Also, I believe that people in the church support other ministries that give to the needy. Be careful about makinga blanket statement about your church saying they should give more when you don't know what is going on in the pocketbooks of each and every individual. I am all about helping those in need, don't get me wrong… I guess it is just a matter of the heart, not the institution of the church.

  12. librariane says:

    Ah, but the church is people, not an institution.

Leave a Reply

