Give It Away

I have to admit that somethings come to be naturally.
Like my ability to to whip up  an amazing, to die for JELL-O delicious treat that cannot be called salad as there is absolutely no nutritional value in it.

Other things need to clobber me in the head with a jack hammer.  I just don’t get it. Or maybe the problem is that I don’t think about it.  I need to think. 

When Amanda from I Am Mommy announced a giveaway for dozens of her amazing cookies to someone you nominated–not necessarily yourself although you were welcome to do that –I didn’t see her post until she decided to cut the nominations short.  So I was too late to enter some of my good friends into the contest.  (which by the way she is beyond way pregnant–due in a couple of days pregnant–so the simple fact that she is doing this is astonishing.)

I was so bummed out!  I really wanted to enter for my friends

4 days later, I had an epiphany.

I could make cookies myself and mail them/give them to my friends who I have been praying for.
Me!
Wasn’t that a brilliant thought?

And not only that, but I could include Princess Pea (who loves to help in the kitchen–I do not believe she is my child except for the pure fact that I was there when she was born).  What a perfect way to teach her how to show love to others. 

I am encouraging you to do something nice in these last 9 days of March that is simply to show God’s love to someone else.  Something that will take a bit of effort and sacrifice for you.

And will you come back and tell me about it?  I would love to hear what you did and what happened!

Confession: so the jello didn’t come very naturally to me either.  I fretted over the job of bringing something fruity to a potluck.  I knew how to make cookies and brownies and even cake, but something fruity?  What is that?  I found my trusty Anoka County 4-H cookbook and it came to my rescue once again. (Both my Anoka County and Rock County 4-H cookbooks have rescued me on numerous occassions!  They are my faithful friends).

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in give it away. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Give It Away

  1. wow… such a great challenge…

    I know who I need to do something nice for, she really hurt me today. But when I read your post, God kept giving me her name.

    wow… how I REALLY don't want to…

    Hopefully I will be back later on to tell you that I DID do something nice for her.

  2. librariane says:

    Just remember Pea seems to be more Kordatzky than French…

  3. what a lovely idea!! thanks for inspiring!! must start brainstorming…

  4. I did it!!!! I'm working late for her tomorrow night. Giving her a break. Sacrificing my time.

    I need to do this more often..

Leave a Reply

