Mastering Bread–Brilliance Purchased!

Today, I figured something out.
I know I am brilliant.
And I know that there is no one in the world who can compare to my brilliance.

So feel free to stare at me in awe and to wish to be me.
I don’t mind.
Because you see, being me might do something for you.
Like give you a moment of my brilliance.

You may be asking what I figured out.

But alas, you must wait for me to explain how this brilliance manifested itself.

First I found a French Bakery by my doctor’s office.  I had to take JackJack again to the MD for an ear check and once again, it is still not clear and so every 2 weeks or so, we go to our home away from home.  This has been CONFIRMED as the Medical Assistant actually told me that we were one of the more frequent visitors of the clinic.

I knew it!  I totally and utterly KNEW it!

I digress.
We left a little early for the appointment and had 20 minutes to use before our appointment.  So we walked across the street to “French Bakery.”  (It’s such a catchy title, isn’t it?)
They are a pastry shop and a bakery so as we were oogaling over the yummy treats, the son of the owner (I presume) showed me the bakery delights.  They were on a small wall.  7 different types of bread, croissants, chocolate croissiants, and 3 other things.  That’s all!  I was amazed that it took so much effort to make 12 things. 

Well, since I am on this quest for the perfect loaf of bread, I decided that I needed to buy a loaf. 
These were all artisan loaves.  So I bought the one that was the closest to a regular loaf of bread to see if mine is comparable. (Isn’t it pathetic that I can’t remember the names of any of the loaves except the baguettes?  I thought this my current goal in life.  Shouldn’t I be paying more attention?)

When I got home, I hacked into it.  It was delicious.  But you know what?  Mine (or should I say my brother’s) was almost as good.  My crust needs more work, but it’s getting there.

It was then that I discovered my brilliant idea.

I don’t need a regular loaf of bread.  I can make sandwiches  with artisan bread!

I know!  Like I said, I knew you’d be jealous!

The crust can’t be as tough. If it is tough for me, they won’t eat it all, so maybe my goal needs to be the perfect kid artisan bread.

Aren’t you glad you are joining me on this journey of unknown destination?

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in baking bread. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mastering Bread–Brilliance Purchased!

  1. I'm glad I'm joining you on any journey. Girl, you crack me up.
    Seriously. Thanks for making me laugh.
    Love you!

  2. Jess says:

    I totally read your last line as “journey of unknown destruction”. LOL. Maybe I should go to bed. 🙂

  3. Arletta Rue says:

    ahh , the French bakery… maybe it is such wonderful bread because you used to be a French!!! just kidding.. oh come think of it you ae still a French!!!

  4. just don't use the water in the oven so your bread doesn't crisp up…that should make a soggy loaf like you want…:)

  5. Amanda says:

    Sounds brilliant to me! 🙂

  6. you really are brilliant and persistent.. way to go giirlie..

    do you have a kitchen aid mixer or other kind of mixer with a dough hook?

  7. My ADHD Me says:

    I never doubted you for a moment!

Leave a Reply

