Mastering Bread–Big Bread

  I am only on week 6 (I think) and I am already “starting over.”  My brother’s recipe was great!  However, it didn’t make a good loaf of bread.  It made great artisan bread and AWESOME pizza crust.  But a loaf–let’s just say I got through it.

Also, I am tired of trying to cut my finger off as after a few days the crust is pretty tough.

I decided to go back to the first recipe I tried (I didn’t blog about this one) since now I had “experience” under my belt.  I do have to say that I am much more at ease making bread now.  So if anything, I am starting to get the feel and rhythm. Maybe one day I won’t need a recipe.  (Ha!  THAT will never happen)

This recipe calls for 2 eggs and cooking oil and sugar. 
I am still trying to make a cheaper-than-79-cents loaf of bread, but I have to insert good bread between my “other” attempts.

And this bread?
Delicious.  It came out of a 4H cookbook and I LOVE it.
YUM!

Perfectly golden brown and soft inside.  The first time I made it!  Heavy as a boulder.  2nd time?  Perfection!
Oh, wait!
Not exactly.  I accidentally let it rise too long and it was puffing up and over the edges of the pan! 

That’s big bread!

Oh, and mastering bread is also giving me an ENORMOUS waistline!
Great!  How special!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in baking bread. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mastering Bread–Big Bread

  1. Ah, yes. I can understand how there would be a direct proportion between your waistline and your bread-making skills. *wink*

    RYC – Yes Look for those books! And be sure to stop by my blog Monday with Maya. (All the kids, actually!) I recorded my video today – a re-telling of Adam Raccoon at Forever Falls.

Leave a Reply

