Sweet Girl’s Gift

The other day, Chris’s Uncle M and Aunt S were in town from Indiana.  In the past year, they have been to MN like 3 times and in the past 2 years, we have been to IN 2 times.  This has been exhilarating since we love them so much.

They treated us to lunch at McDonald’s since we would be bringing all of our Sweet Peas and Buddies, and a playland would give us an opportunity to talk.  Or so we thought.

In between setting out food and giving everyone choices and finding sisters and brothers and eating ourselves and getting our forgotten food and switching out a happy meal toy and occupying a 10 month old with random french fries, we did get a chance to talk. 

At one point we were interrupted by a lady who handed me a gift card and said, “My little girl was stuck up in the play area and your little girl helped her all the way down.  It meant so much to me that I want to give her this $5 giftcard.”

Sweet Girl gasped, grabbed the giftcard out of my hand, and hugged it to her body spinning for joy. 

I am so proud of her, and my heart leaped for joy as well.  She truly is a sweet girl.  She didn’t know that she would be rewarded.  She helped that little girl who was stuck out of her genuine care for other people’s welfare. 

God has given her a gift in caring about people and knowing that she can help them.  I want to encourage this and yet protect her from the hurt she will experience along the way from ungrateful people.

How do I do this?  I don’t want her to start expecting rewards for doing good things AND I don’t want her getting hurt either. 

Any ideas?

And yet, I am one proud mama!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

