An Unexpected Reunion

My grandma died.
We knew it was coming, but at the same time I wasn’t really ready for her to go.
Up until the day of her funeral, my superstars were so sick with fevers and coughing that I didn’t think we would necessarily make it.
The forecast was a “great” one of lots of snow.
My brother and I were keeping each other in the loop and trying to decide if we should go even into the morning of her funeral.
That morning, all the superstars were awake by like 6:07 am.  No fevers.
I told Chris that if we didn’t try to go, I would regret it.
Being the awesome husband he is, he determined that we all might as well go.
So I told my brother, and he said, “we’ll get moving then, too!”
With the wonderful traffic in the metro (yes, it was snowing, but that wasn’t the stressful part.  The stressful part was the parking lot on the freeways), our 2 1/2 hour trip took us 4.  Once we got out of the metro, it wasn’t that bad.
Except for the times we were behind snow plows.
And then I would ask myself, “There is no other blowing snow.  Why is blowing continuously 10 feet ahead of me?”
I know. I’m brilliant.
We got to the funeral 40 minutes late.
The funeral director told me that my mom wanted him to just seat us as soon as we got there.
The pastor said, “Oh, it looks like Arly’s kids are here.”  And everyone turned and watched us shuffle our way into our pew.
“hi.”
We sat down for the last 10 minutes of the service, I cried, and we walked out.  All these people that were so influencial in my life when I was 3 were suddenly surrounding me.  I couldn’t tell you  their names (not many anyway), but every single one of their faces had been planted deeply in my heart.
As all these people were coming up to me, I noticed a lady standing back looking as if she was waiting to talk to me.
In my head, I was thinking, “Oh, no.  She wants to talk to me.  I don’t know who she is.  This is going to be so awkward.”
I greeted someone else, looked at her again, and said, “You’re Lynne, aren’t you?” 
I think it was God because how else would I have known?  It’s been like 17 years since I have seen her.  Maybe more.
Lynne is  married to Steve. 
Steve was a crazy man.
If you don’t remember, just go check him out!

So Lynne and Chris and I hung out at the lunch after the funeral while my family went to the cementary.  Then, when everyone else came back, so did Steve.  And we spent the afternoon together!
It was so GREAT!  So GREAT!
I do have to say, I caught myself being relatively self concious and embarrassed.
Maybe that will never go away, but it doesn’t really matter. 
Steve is a special guy and Lynne is a wonderful lady and I am so thrilled to have had a whole afternoon with them!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family, life. friends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Unexpected Reunion

  1. ~natalie says:

    so sorry about your grandma sweetie. sending love and peace to you and all your family. so glad you were able to make it to celebrate her. =)

  2. Oh I remember them,,,funny

  3. This so blessed my heart after last week…I just had to stop and say “Praise God”…He meet you again!!! Hugs and continued prayers…so sorry the week was so hard and so excited that God meet every hearts desire! He is truly faithful!!

    I missed my own grandmother's funeral..that my husband was doing because my little one was running a high fever…I knew my grandmother would want me where I was, taking care of my child…she was a mother of five…just reminding you that so many have been there also, and so glad yours got well!

  4. Mmmm. Unexpected blessings are the best.
    So sorry it was wrapped around a sad circumstance. Yet, it seems a good reminder that God has wonderful ways of bringing comfort and joy in the midst of sorrow.
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

