Mastering Bread–Tempting Fate

Can’t you just smell it baking?

This week’s attempt to master bread came from a friend from college.   (notice how I am not saying master bread making?  This is intentional.  I  am going to get this, so help me!  And then I will be a bread master.  Me!  Not the bread machine!)  My friend lives in Hawaii now, I believe.  Well, it’s either that or Maryland.  I’m not exactly sure. 

She had this fairly simple recipe for making bread.  However, it called for some unconventional things like tying the dough into a plastic bag after I was done kneading it in my KitchenAid mixer.

 I have always wanted to use the dough hook on my Kitchen Aid but never have because,contrary to some of my wonderful reader’s opinions about making bread, I like to knead the dough. I find satisfaction in pushing and pulling and shaping. I love getting my hands dirty and putting my weight into it. However, I decided that I would follow her recipe to a T. And the first part was mixing the dough in my mixer with the dough hook.

This is what it looked like out of my mixer. 
Later, much to my happiness, the recipe said to knead it again implying to knead it by hand.
YES!

Side note:  In case you are all wondering what is all over Dash’s face, you can stop.  Wondering, that is.  Those are his veins.  He has a disease called Ventricular Exposa……..Okay, no he doesn’t.  And ventricles are chambers of the heart which are completely different from veins.  So I’m just an idiot trying to be medically funny. 

Aaaaaannndddd, I’m not.

Anyway, he got into the girls’ dry erase markers.
How, you may ask?
It might have something to do with the fact that the supergirls are not always  responsible with their things, and so, therefore, their 2 year old brother  takes advantage of that irresponsibility.
Dash, in all his blue marker glory, wanted to help with the bread, and I think he looks fabulous, don’t you?  We have not been in public yet.  I’ll let you know how that goes.

This attempt to make bread had disaster written all over it.
First of all, I was going on 1.5 hours of sleep since the night before I took JackJack to the ER at 3:00 am and when I got home, Dash joined me in bed.  He was up for the morning, and I, on the other hand, was not!  But I guess I was.  Unhappily.
Second, these loaves were made out of frantic necessity to have bread for company the next day–instead of the joy of the challenge. 
Finally, I baked bread instead of going to church to teach the 3 year old Cubbies class that I’m in charge of.  Chris thought I shouldn’t go since I was so emotionally, physically, and even spiritually drained.  Which meant I stayed home with the boys one of whom was very sick.  And then, we added naughty Princess Pea who has missed Cubbies 2 times now because of her behavior. 
As you can see, this was probably not the best time to participate in my challenge.

But I did.
And was it successful?

If I’m not dead by tomorrow?
Yes.
If I’m dead tomorrow, I can tell you why.  I accidently poisoned myself, my children, and our guest.
It called for dry milk.
I have dry milk.
I have no idea when I purchased it.
It could have been the first year we were married, in 1999!!!

But it tasted FABULOUS!  I have been eating it like a maniac!  So if I’m dead from food poisoning, know that I died happy!  Very very happy!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in baking bread. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mastering Bread–Tempting Fate

  1. Yessssssss, you are. Funny, that is!
    I'm having a very good laugh right now. And.I.thank.YOU!

  2. I live in Hawaii, Don't think I could live anywhere cold now, I'm a wuss and I admit it. I'm glad you are enjoying it! I love to knead it too, but life with kids being what it is, I always had to walk away and the more you knead the better the rise.

  3. Laughing too hard…my post tomorrow is on needing Geritol…which you might need also.
    Love you did all the bread by hand, with a little help…I love my dough hook.
    Oh, marker on the face…too many times to mention. My daughter wanted freckles and put them on her cheeks with permanent marker…don't ask how long they were there

    Then the newest did pink all over his face…a boy with pink circles all over his face…glad I am a stay at home mom so he didn't get out of the house.

    Totally get the thing of “you stay home and rest you need it”…while staying home with the sick child.

    This grey hair mother of six gives you a BIG HUG!!!!

  4. Dan and Tara says:

    G,
    You crack me up. Your blogs make me laugh. all.the.time.
    You, your kids and your bread making craze are a delight.
    T

    PS I have NEVER made bread. I still may never try, but I am living vicariously thru your blog. Believe me.

  5. Ginny Marie says:

    The only way I make bread is with the bread machine! Your bread looks delicious!

    Emmy has drawn cat whiskers on her face before, and we'll go out in public. I'll forget what she looks like, and strangers will look at her and give me a knowing smile! 🙂 (They don't really look like cat whiskers when she draws them on her face!)

  6. Dana says:

    Oooh looks wonderful!!! Was there any left for the company? And now Hawaii is calling my name …

  7. Nan says:

    I used to make homemade pizza crust. Then i had my daughter. I could just be in the same room as the rising dough and it would turn gray and die. My neighbor and i even shared a pack of yeast and she got gorguss bread and mine did not make it out of the mixing bowl. Daughter is 27 and i still buy my artisan bread at the store…..

Leave a Reply

