Kindergarten Birthday Presents

I want to think that my superstars will have the exact same experience I did in school.
I wasn’t popular, but I wasn’t disgusting.
I was able to stand apart from the rest of the crowd. 
I never went to a party where everyone was drinking/smoking.
I never even thought about it.
And I never thought I was missing out.
I just happily went along with my life in youth group and all the activities that I was in.

That’s what I want for my superstars.

I want them to be liked for who they are not for what the presents they give.

Wordgirl just went to her 100th birthday party.  Okay, so I may be exaggerating slightly, but she has been going to birthday parties since before she was 2 (I am not kidding!).  She is quickly becoming the most popular person in our family.  And ever since she has been attending parties, she has given the smallest presents.

You know why?

Because we can’t afford to give extravagant gifts.  Plus, in my mind, you have a birthday party to spend time with your friends, not to get the “good stuff.”

And while I don’t believe it’s an issue right now, I can see this becoming one.

What do I do?  Do I let her suffer the ridicule of her peers and try to instill that real friends wouldn’t care?

Or do I give in to protect her?

I don’t want her to suffer.

But I don’t really want her to be popular either!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in on gianna's mind, wordgirl. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kindergarten Birthday Presents

  1. Bren says:

    What we have done for gifts is made them pick it out usually $10 or less, clearance items are great and it is truly a gift from the kids. They have never been ridiculed and are usually so excited to give the gift to the friend they tell them ahead of time. (my kids tell ahead of time). Keep doing what you do with love. It is the best gift!

  2. Keith says:

    I totally had the same thing as you when growing up. And I want the same thing for my kids.
    We do the same as you do. But my kids still don't seem to notice anything it. My kids are a little bit older and it is still not an issue. They are not made fun of by other kids, and they are learning to give. I think by the time that it will be an issue, birthday parties will be a thing of the past.

  3. librariane says:

    Don't cave! Bren's idea of shopping clearance is great–even if that means you do the shopping and M 'shops' from a box of gifts you have in the basement.

    As a kid, I don't remember going to that many birthday parties… so I can't help with that aspect of it.

  4. I've found the most popular gifts that little kids can give each other is from the dollar store. I would pick out: Silly string, anything that glows, pencils, stickers, silly putty, etc…

    Find a cute bag or container and voila! Awesome, kid friendly (parents may not be happy w/ you) gift. :o)

    Unfortunately… My daughter is 16 now and those gifts don't suffice… BUT $10 gift cards to Starbucks is like GOLD to teenage girls. Seriously.

  5. Megan says:

    We are living in a self-serving, self-centered, self-crazed world that desires to make much of self and that is very focused on having things. I agree with you that birthday parties are really to get together with friends and celebrate together God's good work in the child's (or adult's) life. No present necessary. If you want to bring/give a present let it be whatever you are able to give!

    My six year old was thrilled with miscellaneous craft supplies (tape, felt squares, foam circles, wooden sticks, etc.) from the dollar store. Cheap-o! She is soooo enjoying her quiet craft time by being creative! She's making each of us felt dolls this week.

  6. Amanda says:

    Great question! I think the best gifts are the personal and thoughtful ones… not the most expensive!

    We are trying to instill in our kids that your birthday and Christmas are NOT about gifts. When Colton starts to go on and on about what he wants for his birthday, I remind him that his REAL gift is being with family and freinds. Over and over again. I hope that one day he accepts it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

