Lessons Learned

Lessons I have learned in 2010:

  1. I hate to waste food.  I will suffer through a horribly sour apple or orange just because there is nothing wrong with it even if I don’t like the taste.  I have known this, however, for years.  What I did learn in 2010 is that I hate even to watch my superstars waste food.  So much so that when JackJack (7 months old at the time) stuck his finger in his baby cereal bowl full of cereal, I heard myself say, “Okay, now just stick your finger in your mouth!”  and promptly tried to aim his finger into his mouth.
  2. Raising 4 superstars isn’t that hard.  This past week, when Chris’s family was visiting for the week, I heard, “I don’t know how you do it”  more times than I can count.  This morning when it was just me and the superstars for the first time in about 5 days , even though the house was in a complete and utter disaster, there was peace.  Even though I am happy to have them when people come to visit and disrupt the routine, THAT’s what is hard.  When I’m tired and I’ve had to deal with Dash’s temper tantrums for the 98th time regarding going to bed, THAT’s hard.  But generally, raising 4 is quite peaceful.
  3. I love my baby.  I have gotten to spend almost every waking minute with him since we took the plunge and  “resigned” from my employment.  I say that because I still get called occassionally–very occassionally–if they need help.  As I sped time with JackJack, I am enjoying every moment I have and taking it all in and I DON’T WANT IT TO END.  Everyday I struggle a little bit more with this. Let me explain (as you may be thinking, “She doesn’t love her other superstars?”  Oh, contraire!) When Wordgirl was a baby, I was so freaked out that I would ruin her I did everything by the book without enjoying her.  When Princess Pea was a baby, I worked full time and missed a lot of her babyhood (and she was a GREAT baby).  When Dash was a baby, life was difficult.  The poor boy had reflux and was in pain for 10 months of his babyhood.  So needless to say, he was a hard baby who screamed and cried a lot and didn’t sleep very well.  With each of my first 3 babies, I counted down until they were a year.  JackJack has been the most laidback baby (let me rephrase that and say “perfect”) and since I was medicated for my depression BEFORE he was born, I have been able to enjoy every single minute from the very moment he was born.
  4. I love having Wordgirl in Kindergarten, but having one of the four away for half the day does not make the days any easier.  When she is home, our delicate family balance is restored.  When she is away, Princess Pea steps up and is a great big sister and mama’s helper.  But even she relaxes when her big sister is back to “be in charge.” 
  5. Everything I do MUST be intentional and MUST glorify God: be it exercising, playing with my superstars, folding the laundry, talking with Chris, checking in on my friends, teaching Cubbies, babysitting, cooking, baking, disciplining, etc. 
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in on gianna's mind. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lessons Learned

Leave a Reply

