A Real Christmas

I wrote this poem last Christmas when I was pregnant with JackJack.  Even though I am out of this stage now (tearfully), with a little editing, this is my tribute to my Jesus at Christmas.  I hope you enjoy.

2 hours before Christmas
and all through the house.
everyone was sleeping
but one little mouse. (or significantly large mouse since she is relatively pregnant and GROWING)


all the stockings were stuffed
with their presents unwrapped,
and knowing full well,
the busy mouse did not nap. (which she didn’t, but her list was so large, it took a long time to get it done and it still isn’t completely done)

the children were nestled
all snug in their beds
coughing repeatedly
and needing their nebs.


a call to the doctor
who happened to be Pryor
assured me that they were okay,
their straits were not dire.


after sending my sleepy
husband to rest
i knew i was in
for the long haul at best!


i’m sorry to say
the words in my head
were nothing uplifting
and shouldn’t be said.

with the christmas tree lit
and my companion, the news
i started to wrap
every gift we did choose.


as the evening went on
closing in on midnight
i kept plugging away
hoping the end was in sight.


three minutes to go
and the presents were DONE!
as a tired mama, though,
midnight’s not fun!
instead of complaining
i turned off the lights
and sat on the loveseat;
enjoying the sights.


i prayed to YHWH
about my mom and dad
 about my brother, my friends,
and the family i have.


taking time during the season
to spend it with my God
is very uplifting.
my icy heart, a bit thawed.

after i was finished
with the tasks on my plate
i realized my heart changed
i was feeling so great!

thank you, Jesus,
for coming to this world
to be born, grow up,
to die with insults  hurled.


but you are alive,
alive and in me.
to see my heart change
and simply be free


is the best christmas present
for which i could ever hope
you came and saved me
even when i am a dope.

you love me, you know me
you are not surprised at all
that my head is full of trash
and my heart is so small


you made yourself little
you humbled yourself for me
you walked on this earth
and you died on a tree.


happy birthday, dear savior
the king of the all things.
i love you so dearly.
for you, my heart sings!


merry christmas!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in christmas, yhwh. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Real Christmas

  1. My favorite line (and I will probably requote you too) is:

    “the best christmas present
    for which i could ever hope
    you came and saved me
    even when i am a dope.”

    Made me laugh AND reflect. :o)

    I hope you and your family have a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! And know, I'll be right there w/ you, on Christmas Eve, wrapping gifts until midnight or later. :o)

  2. Arletta Rue says:

    You have a huge gift with words.. my heart laughed , heart cried, my heart rejoiced.. I am so blessed to call you 'daughter'

Leave a Reply

