I’m Pretty Sure that My Baby Did Not Shrink

According to the measurements at the doctor, my baby has shrunk.
Do you know why that is?

Because…

2 weeks ago, I freaked out because JackJack had a fever.  It was 103.5 and so it was  a bit high.  I decided to bring him in since it was going on day 3 and he is little.

I packed up my superstars after Wordgirl went to school and away we went. 

We all went back into the exam room when we were called and the nurse who took JackJack’s vitals was very efficient. 

I might say TOO efficient.

It was all business. 

It was like she was in a hurry and couldn’t get out of there fast enough.

So today when I took JackJack to his 9 month appointment (I KNOW!  This is going all too fast!) Rachel our favorite nurse for like 10 years–I’m not exaggerating!–took her time and measured JackJack.  When Dr. Kolacz looked at his growth chart, he had shrunk!  She decided to measure him again.

The whole time I am knowing that Rachel did it accurately; it was the other nurse.

Because………

People (and by people I am generalizing the entire population of the planet!) tend to get all nervous when more than 1 child is present.

Even when they are acting like well-behaved puppies
which they were.

Why is that?

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in doctor, JackJack, life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Pretty Sure that My Baby Did Not Shrink

  1. Arletta Rue says:

    I don't know the answer to your question,,, but calling the kids puppies made me laugh.. I can just see them 20 years from now saying — MOM!!! I was a puppy!!????

  2. Dana says:

    There's definitely a lot of room for error in the length of babies!!! It depends on whether their head actually stays put and how much the nurse s t r e t c h e s the babe … and if a second person is helping to hold the little person somewhat still.

    I had a similar experience once 🙂 I think it was that the baby had grown a BUNCH by its two week check-up … and the conclusion was that the baby probably wasn't stretched out properly at the birth measurement.

Leave a Reply

