A Charley Harper Christmas and Giveaway



Copyright: © 2010
The Estate of Charley Harper/Courtesy
of http://www.ammobooks.com

 I have been in contact with AMMO Books regarding their children’s products. In return for a review, I was provided a set of nesting blocks and a coloring book both with designs from Charley Harper. Aside from receiving these items, I am not receiving any compensation for this review.

About a year ago, my mom found a Charley Harper board book for Dash.  My mom is an artist and has an appreciation for art, mostly beautiful art and sometimes a bit funky. 
I think that Charley Harper was a little bit of both using bright colors and simple shapes. 

I was excited to learn about these products and interested in seeing what my superstars would do with them.

Let me begin by completely disclosing my initial feelings about the Nesting Blocks.  They are made out of plastic coated cardboard, so when we pulled them out of the box, I was a bit disappointed that they didn’t seem to be very sturdy.  But as soon as I pulled them out for JackJack and Dash to discover, I was pleasantly surprised.

As you can see, JackJack found them absolutely delicious to stick in his mouth.  With all that baby slobber, they stood the test.  I was very impressed.  The superboys loved playing with these blocks. I believe the blocks colors attracted the boys to them.  They are great boxes!  As they played with them longer and longer, I grew to like them more and more. 
I didn’t think the boys would be able to play so completely with the boxes.  “What can you do with a bunch of boxes?” was my thought. 

Well, I was eating humble pie in a matter of minutes as the superboys were happily preoccupied!

Checking out the coloring book belonged to the supergirls. As you can see, Princess Pea could not get enough of the birds.  The birds are printed on thick white paper and are one-sided only.  Since they designed the coloring book this way, it is perfect for using markers which my girls love to use.  Also, you don’t have to decide which side to display on the wall or on the fridge.    Princess Pea tore the pictures out of the book herself before I showed her how. Even though the book’s pages were perforated, it was a bit difficult for her. She was thrilled when she ripped the pages out and didn’t tear a bird.  I think after a bit she would have gotten the hang of using the perforation. 

AMMO Books is hosting a giveaway through my blog as well, so you have a chance to win these products.  They would make a great gift for any child between 8 months and 5 years! 
This Giveaway is open until Friday, December 10, 2010.
Giveaway Guidelines: 
Required
  1. Go to AMMO Books and leave a comment about an interesting product. 
Additional Entries (leave a comment for each of these entries) 
  1. Follow my blog
  2. Post a link to my blog on facebook
  3. Post a link to my blog on twitter.
Now, I better go wrap JackJack’s Christmas present.  Shhhh!  Don’t tell him that he’s getting the Nesting Blocks!
About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in book review. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Charley Harper Christmas and Giveaway

  1. librariane says:

    Yay for Charlie Harper! He was the inspiration for my cardinal cards!

    Good reviews–the first is even great for librarians who may want to add those blocks to a baby storytime. 🙂

  2. Very fun! Any book that survives the saliva test wins, I think :).

  3. Dana says:

    So cute!!! Neat boxes!!! I hadn't heard of CH. Have to check his stuff out 🙂

Leave a Reply

