From My Non-Football Player Perspective

Right now it’s a good time to be a Packer fan in Vikings territory being that that Vikings just got desimated by the Packers. 
But that’s not what I want to talk about.
What I want to talk about is this man:

Brad Childress Pictures, Images and Photos

This is Brad Childress.  Last year, he was praised up and down for bringing Brett Favre to the Vikings (let’s not go into that except to say, “Who wudda thunk?”) and getting them to the NFC championship.  They lost that game to the New Orlean Saints–who went on to win the Superbowl.

This year, the Vikings are 3 and 7.  Vikings’ fans everywhere have been war crying for him to be fired. Chants were erupting frequently in the Metrodome (I know, I know.  Officially it’s called the Mall of America Field, but to me it will always be the Metrodome).

And now?
He’s fired.

Let me say this again.
Last year, he went to the NFC championship.
This year he lost his job.

One more time.
Last year, he went to the NFC championship.
This year he lost his job.

I was talking to Chris and my friend, Jenny, about this.  They were explaining to me that it is all part of the game.

I still think it’s stupid (and I don’t use that word lightly).  I’m sure that legendary Vince Lombardi had some horrible seasons, that not every season was a winning season. He made his legacy with the Packers.  Would his legacy have been as memorable if he had been skipping from team to team?  Probably not.  And his legacy is awesome!   Every football team wants to win the Vince Lombardi trophy.  Could he have made a bigger impact?  I don’t think so!
 
With the way our microwave society is now, I don’t see why anyone would want to grow up and be a football coach. 

Small child:  I want to be a football coach.
Mommy:  Are you sure?
Small Child:  Oh, yes!  Mommy, I want to be stressed for the rest of my life about if I get to keep my job if we have a bad season.  I want to have the masses in a city or state LOVE me when we win and HATE me with chanting to fire me!

All I can say is:
Give me a break!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in life, on gianna's mind. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to From My Non-Football Player Perspective

  1. Just ONE of the reasons I'm not a big sports fan. *grin*

  2. I've never understood that either.

    My daughter gets a small taste of that by being a referree @ local soccer games. One minute the parents are praising her for her “wonderful calls” and the next they are calling her “blind” and telling her that she doesn't know what she's doing. The Hispanics have even taken to cussing at her in Spanish.

    Thankfully, she lets it roll. She enjoys the freedom that refereeing gives her (she gets paid, she's saved up a lot of gas $$, so she doesn't have to take the typical, teenager, part time job) and she loves the game.

    I couldn't do it. But for some, the love of the game is enough.

  3. librariane says:

    I TOTALLY agree with this! I don't understand the whole 'let's fire the head coach because one season stinks' idea… Chip's tried to explain it, too, but I just don't get it.

  4. It's not about a bad season, let's face it we Vikings fans have had plenty of those and still stayed behind our team, it's about loosing the respect of your team. If there's a mutiny you have to take a step back and say is it the team or is it the leader? In this case it was the leader. People were calling for his resignation long before the season went bad. And the Championship was more about the team than the coach, the chemistry was just there last year and it isn't now. That's leadership.

  5. my brother in law is a hardcore fan, but oddly enough I heard most of my information from a couple old Hawaiian men sitting behind me at McDonalds. We get different blurbs and bits over here. Anyway they were talking about some interviews they read from the team members and how it was falling apart internally so they were never gonna win. And when your shining star Farve, who is obviously a favorite, starts bad letting it be known that things are not as they should be. I'll adapt the line from “how to train your dragon”– “We should (leave)choose a new team if we want to see the superbowl, but we won't we're Vikings, we have stubborness issues”

  6. apparently I'm a mom, and I stopped a thought midstream, but I think you get the idea.

  7. It was my second visit to your site, but I admire time and effort you put into advancing it! I have enjoyed reading many of your articles, looks like you are a professional writer! Well done!

Leave a Reply

