The Facts of Life According to a 3 year old

I needed to take a nap.
I don’t always need to take a nap, but there was no denying that I needed one. 
The boys were snug in their beds with visions of nuks (for Dash) and of strained peas (for JackJack) dancing in their heads.  Wordgirl was at one of the 3 birthday parties she was invited to that day.  Later on Princess Pea was going to be going to a kids orchestra event with one of her good friends and was going to miss family movie night.
So I had an epiphany.
Since she was going to miss family movie night.
And since I needed a nap.
Why not put in a movie for her to watch while I slept?

What a great idea, you say?

I must admit:
It was.

We had a movie from the library.
Charlotte’s Web.

Charlottes Web Pictures, Images and Photos
image by cattynancy

Grreat movie.  It’s especially meaningful to Chris’s mom (and dad?  it might have been their first date movie or something).

So I started the movie for her, and as soon as I saw that it was working, I went to bed.  I fell asleep immediately.  Hard.

Just over an hour later, I woke up to a little girl in my room, SOBBING.
She was sobbing and sobbing as I was awoken from the deepest sleep ever.  So to the poor little girl, I wasn’t much good.  She wandered around my room whimpering as I stared at her.  Finally, after not getting any help from me, she left.  I just continued to stare after her.  When she had been gone for a couple of minutes, I was able to shake my head to clear it, get out of bed, and go in search for her.

When I found her, the wandering was still continuing but in the basement. As she cuddled with me, she said, “The animals, Mom!  The animals!  On the farm.  They can’t do that to the animals! They were going to DIE and be made into bacon!”

While I was in sweet slumber, my Princess Pea was staring in horror at the realities of life. 
That one day we are going to die and be made into bacon!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in on gianna's mind, princess pea. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Facts of Life According to a 3 year old

  1. Oh, dear. My mind was going another way with that 'Facts of Life' idea. And I was wondering how Charlotte's Web has changed since the last time I saw it. Because I didn't remember anything about the birds and the bees from my last viewing. LOL!
    You're talking about the OTHER facts!
    I'll think about Princess Pea when I'm buying bacon for my Thanksgiving stuffing recipe. *wink*

  2. Reeve says:

    Awwww that little sweetie! She is so sensitive and caring – two very admirable qualities!

  3. librariane says:

    A friend just posted on FB about how her daughter saw some deer tied to a car and asked why that was. Her mom had to tell her about hunting and that people were going to eat them…

  4. Amanda says:

    Bless her compassionate and caring heart!!! Nothing worse then seeing your babies cry in sadness… and nothing worse then being woke up from a deep sleep.

    Sorry. I am tired too. I cant help it.

    Blessings!
    Amanda

  5. Ginny Marie says:

    What a hard lesson to learn! My girls have taken to calling ham “pig” – maybe they learned the lesson too well! 😉

  6. Jess says:

    Well, you're certainly not the only mom to pull that trick. I usually get woken up to a “mommy the movie stopped” or “the computer went to sleep” (since we watch movies on a laptop). Sometimes a tiny nap is worse than no nap at all!

    And yes, that BIG city. Ha ha!

Leave a Reply

