I Never Knew Steve Before His Car Accident

The summer before 4th grade, we moved to Morris.  I turned nine the day before school started and I was kind of excited to share that with people.
There was one problem.
I was the new kid.
Who was I going to tell?
Besides, there was something more important happening that first day of school.

A classmate didn’t show up because he had been in a bad car accident.  The first day I saw Steve was 2 or 3 days after school started, and he had a bunch of scars on his face.  He also had a broken arm. 

When he walked into school, everyone asked him how he was doing.  I had NO idea what was going on.  To me, Steve had always looked like that.  I never knew him before his accident and even now whenever I think of Steve (which isn’t ever to be honest), I immediately think of what he looked like those first days of school. 

Both he and I were selected to be on the Student Council (Steve because he was popular and me because I was the new kid–I totally bet that was the reason).  But that’s about as much interaction with Steve as I ever had throughout the rest of elementary school and until we graduated.  Steve would continue to be the cool kid and even though I wasn’t the new kid anymore, I totally wasn’t a part of his crowd.  And that’s okay.

I just wonder what he would think of my memory of him.

I am joining Janna again.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in My Piggy Tales. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Never Knew Steve Before His Car Accident

  1. joan geleneau says:

    Steve Carstens?

  2. Taylor says:

    I was on the student council, too! I don't think I did much, though 🙂

  3. I remember a bad accident I had which landed me in the hospital for a few days and left bunches of scabs on my face. (The scars are inside my mouth, fortunately. *grin*)
    Now you have me wondering if anyone remembers me that way. Not that I was among the popular crowd, like Steve. Because I wasn't. I'm just wondering. *wink*

  4. Funny how we remember those things. I have two like that, a boy who had a rocket explode and his face and hands got all burned, one who got run over at a party and got a broken neck, and another our senior year, who had an ATV accident and ended up paralyzed from the neck down. Such HUGE things for us growing up, aren't they?

Leave a Reply

