Hiding From Security

Going to a Christian College and wanting to be there made my college experience a little different from other people’s.

I was not bombarbed with opportunities to party and do drugs.  I’m sure they were there at NWC, but I didn’t experience them because it was hidden. (Not that I wanted to do it anyway)

I wasn’t ever publicly drunk.  In fact, I never even took a sip of alcohol. 

I didn’t go away for spring break to a warm and sunny location.

I didn’t get arrested for anything like disorderly conduct or anything else.

I was a good kid/adult.  I pretty much obeyed the rules.

But I remember once, Chris and I were in Nazareth Hall (the main building on campus) really late one night.  So late, they locked us in.  I think one of us was having an emotional meltdown so we were working through that.  We moved from one location to another.  I don’t even remember why.  But suddenly, we found ourselves in the band room when we heard the security guard come through the first door that led into the entryway of the band room. In a matter of seconds, he was going to be in the band room. 

I stood up in a panic and didn’t know what to do because I didn’t want to get into trouble.  That’s when Chris saw 3 stairs that led down from the top of the raised area of the band room.  It was like a pit in the back of the tiers..  So he laid himself as flat to the bottom of the “pit” as he could and I followed suit. 

The security guard came in did a quick check and left.  I wasn’t even sure when he left because I could hear anything over the beating of my own heart! 

As soon as we thought the coast was clear, we beelined out of the band room and out of Nazareth Hall all together.  As stupid as it was, we were on an adrenaline rush.  I remember returning to my dorm room and not being able to sleep.

And that was my brush with the law!

I am joining Ginny at Janna’s for an adventure through my young adult years.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in My Piggy Tales. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hiding From Security

  1. Mom2three says:

    I had a similar Christian college experience. I think I was pretty naive about things going on around me, so I probably missed a lot of junk. Glad you shared your story.

  2. MommaHarms says:

    Another Chrisitan college grad and I can totally picture this situation! Too funnY!

  3. Ginny Marie says:

    What a brush with the law! I can just picture you and Chris holding your breath as the security guard checked the band room! It's a good thing you two didn't get caught. 😉

  4. Dana says:

    Oh Gianna … hahaha. Did I ever tell you about the time I went on a Bethel roommate roulette to somewhere (can't remember anymore) and then we went swimming (uninvited ~ this wasn't my idea!) at your own NWC???

Leave a Reply

