My Young Adult Years: Friends

I want to be liked.
I have always wanted to be liked.
It’s horrible how badly I feel like I need to be liked.
College was a place that I thrived in building relationships, including meeting my husband.  It was also a place where one of my closest relationships from high school kind of died.  (it was my fault!)
I could go on and on about these stories, but I thought I would highlight just a few of my forever friends for you.

Emilie:  My roommate for two years.  She and I are very different, but we complimented each other so well.  She found the deep, spiritual side to everything, and I usually found the humorous side to everything.  We would lay in our bunkbeds and talk and talk until Emilie would hear me say, “Uh-huh.”  That meant that I was almost asleep and the conversation was coming to a close. I was a candlelighter in her wedding and she was a bridesmaid in mine.

Colleen:  We became friends the summer that we worked together on Campus getting the dorms ready for overnight guests.  I think she had a lot of stuff going on that summer, and I think she was even trying to tell me about it, but I was so clueless.  We got another job together at Once Upon A Child and got to experience the store being robbed by a man with a gun.  I was her personal attendant in her wedding and she was a candlelighter in mine.

Jenny: One year she lived across the hall from me and she actually introduced Chris and me.  (she really much likes to claim this!)  There are so many stories to tell you about with Jenny, but every single one of them is much to complicated!  So I will just say, the year we each got married, she and I worked out together pretty much every morning.  We weren’t in each others’ weddings, but we prepared for them together.

Dacia:  I could go on and on about Dacia.
But I won’t.  She married Andy who I went to prom with my Senior year of high school.  I was a bridesmaid in her wedding and she was a candlelighter in mine.

The epitome of my college years with Dacia was Paint Crew the summer we got married.  I begged and begged our boss to let me paint doors with Dacia and Jenny.  FINALLY he let me (it was probably like  1 to 2 weeks but it felt forever!)  I think it was after Jenny got married and moved to WI that we became painter pals.  We were so naughty.  Whenever we saw a piano, we would stop what we were doing, page through the hymnal to find Wonderful Grace of Jesus.  She would play the right hand and I would play the left and we would BELT it out.  We also got our friend, Gregg, to pull us over the grass on a drop cloth as fast as he could.  It was so FUN!  We painted our initials on the ceiling of the paint shack. 
Chris and I have many more memories with Dacia and Andy after they moved to Texas, but we won’t go into those hilarious stories.  But I want to say 2 words:  Dwight’s Motel

I am joining Ginny at Janna’s for an adventure through my young adult years.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in My Piggy Tales. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Young Adult Years: Friends

  1. Ginny Marie says:

    First of all, how terrifying that you experience being robbed at gunpoint. Second of all, who would rob Once Upon A Child? I hope that guy got caught!

    Such wonderful friendships and memories! Thanks for sharing them with us!

  2. Berry Patch says:

    I love the snippets of memories you shared about your friends. I have a great friend who introduced hubby & myself as well. Still going strong 17 years later.

  3. Jenny Aust says:

    I LOVED that summer we all got married! I have incredible memories from paint crew…even still have the shirt that you guys signed as a wedding gift! Ahhh, what GREAT memories! Love you Gianna!

  4. ummm…. you were robbed at gun point?? I think that is a blog post in and of itself!!!

  5. MommaHarms says:

    Yes, we need to hear the robbed at gunpoint story!

  6. Dana says:

    Might I have heard about the robbery before??? Sounds vaguely familiar … scary indeed though. Also, where would you find pianos??? Did I miss something?

  7. gianna says:

    We were on paint crew at Northwestern so the pianos were pretty much in every building on campus in one room or another!

    Maybe I will post about being robbed.

  8. Dacia says:

    Dwight's Motel
    1051 E Hwy 81 . New Braunfels, TX
    830-625-2515

    just in case you are ever in the area and want to experience it for yourself. They even have color TV.

    Dacia

Leave a Reply

