Quick School Explanation

I am NOT against homeschool.
I am NOT against private school.
I am NOT for public school.

I  think I sounded a bit too defensive in my post about school choices.  That was not my intent. 
My intent was to explain that I am not a bad Christian mom who chooses to send my child to an evil public school.
Because right now in Kindergarten I believe that is the best option for her.  I don’t want to homeschool, and I don’t feel God tugging on my heart to do that.  Therefore, I will be sending her to a place where the people are trained to teach her.  And since we can’t afford private, she will be attending public.

For now, this is the path we have chosen. 
However, nothing is permanent.  No choice is necessarily permanent.  When the need arises, we will reevaluate.  But for now, Wordgirl is enjoying being a Tiger!  (I was a Tiger, too!)

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in school days. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Quick School Explanation

  1. Jess says:

    It's our decision at the moment for our kindergartner too. We'll be re-evaluating that choice on Monday. Already.

  2. Bren says:

    Right now I am against all schooling. My kids are tired and bringing home illness (I look like Rudolph). I need to go back to school, really there should be FREE online courses for us parents to brush up on Chemistry, History and handwriting, who handwrites anymore? I have no idea how I graduated from any kind of school at the moment. Really, school is a part of life that is just as hard on the parents as the kids and yet we learn so much about ourselves. Glad we can walk through this together!

  3. “I am not a bad Christian mom…”
    I agree, but – honestly – there have been times when I have felt like a less-than mom, because I don't home-school. Yeah. I have insecurity issues. LOL!
    When I'm thinking clearly, I know there is not a perfect, God-ordained choice in the matter. When I am feeling insecure, I need to remind myself of what I know!

    Love you,
    Karen

  4. gianna says:

    I'm thinking we need to go back to the 1800's. Stay tuned for a post about THAT!
    Also, Jess!
    What's going on?

  5. Oh I must have missed that post…well I can say, from this very tired home school mom, that you do what is right for you!!! I would never try to convince anyone to home school…you just pick your battles. There are battles in any choice. I can tell you all the battles I have fought with home schooling…it hasn't been easy. Next year my sixth child might be going to public school…now that would be after 22 years of straight home schooling…so see I don't believe there is a perfect school environment, since I have home schooled I can say it wasn't perfect!
    Enjoy your choice!!…from this bad home school mom!!! LOL
    I just pray a lot and leave the final product to him…then I am not making my choice an idol!

  6. angie says:

    I love that there are a few choices open to us as parents in regards to our children's education~!

  7. Mamma Bird says:

    I home school and it's hard. I want to go to the gym and can't bring all my kids with me every time and still have time for school and every time I go anywhere I feel like I have to explain why my kids are with me in the middle of the day at McDonald and I feel judged all the time that I am not smart enough to home school. But it is the right thing for me for now. It's personal. You are right there is not any ONE RIGHT answer.

  8. Jenny Aust says:

    We've talked about this A LOT and I often feel pressure from my homeschool friends.

    All I can say is…

    AMEN sista! God will direct both our families in which way to educate each of our wonderful children.

Leave a Reply

