Our Journey to see Secretariat Part 2

Our journey to see Secretariat

Chris needed to rest as he had been needing to awake from his nightly slumbers in the middle of the night 3 days in a row for work.

So I let him rest and tried to make supper and get it on the table so that we could eat at 5:05 pm and pick up our babysitter and leave in time to get to the prerelease screening of Secretariat.

At 5:15, I sent Dash up to get Daddy.

At 5:20, I sent Wordgirl up to get Daddy who was sent back down with this message: Daddy will come down when it’s supper time.

(sometimes I forget that I haven’t communicated to Chris. Sometimes I believe with all my heart that he knows exactly what is going on in my head. Then, I remember that he is not God. And then? The cycle starts all over again)

At 5:25, I called up to Chris, “We gotta leave in 10-15 minutes to get Reeve.”

At 5:26, we finally have all the superstarts sitting around the table.

At 5:27, Dash decides that he does not want to be at the table.

At 5:28, Dash is trying with his baby quilt to cover a pile of stuff we have in the kitchen waiting for Todd and Andrea to pick up, trips, smashes his lip on the air pump, and starts bleeding like CRAZY!

At 5:29 Chris and I are both trying to soothe him and hold a cold washcloth to his lip and see if there is anything else that is bleeding.

At 5:30, JackJack starts crying.

At 5:32 I get back to the table to smash whatever food I can into my tummy and gobble up both my food and Dash’s.

At 5:34 Wordgirl is very sad about Dash’s lip, starts to cry, and prays for him to feel better.

At 5:35 Princess Pea decides that she doesn’t need to eat anymore and from there it’s a challenge to get her to eat 3 more bites.

At 5:40, Chris decides to leave to pick up our babysitter, Reeve (later her sister will come), and I decide there is NO way I can get the dishes done.

I put the boys in their pajamas and by the time Chris gets back with Reeve, I have been able to nurse JackJack.

After going through instructions of how to do the bedtime thing with 4 children, we walk about the door with me suddenly throwing our contact information at Reeve.

Part 3 is coming tomorrow!

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in family, fun, life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Journey to see Secretariat Part 2

  1. AAHHH!! the chaos… sometimes it is so hard, so very very hard to get out the door. hope you had a great time!

Leave a Reply

