Schooling

I am surrounded by homeschoolers.

I do not feel negative toward homeschooling.  At. All.
For some people it is the perfect situation.
I am not upset if you choose to homeschool. 

Whatever you need to do.

But I never thought I would be in the minority sending my children to public school.  I never thought I would need to defend our decision!

No one has asked us to.  No one has pressured us to homeschool, but I feel like I’m a bad mom since I’m not doing homeschool.
But you know what?

I can’t teach my child to read.

And I don’t want to teach my child to read

I want to help my child practice, but I haven’t been trained to do this.  There are MANY teachers out there who have had advanced training in how to be an effective teacher who DO want to teach her.

There is nothing wrong with sending your child to public school.  I would rather Wordgirl experience some real life things now that could be much less harmful than experience them for the first time as a teenager.  I want her to learn how to stand up for what is right by sticking up for someone who is being teased about their shoes instead of learning it for the first time by sticking up for someone who is not drinking or doing drugs or something.  I want her to make a few bad choices now when the worse thing that can happen to her is she has to sit in the Take-A-Break Chair (oh, yes.  This has already happened!). 

These real life lessons help to make us and it’s my job as a parent to build a loving foundation so that my superstars won’t be broken by these lessons. Where they can come home and be safe and loved and built into and challenged and healed.

I can’t prepare Wordgirl (or Princess Pea or Dash or JackJack) for everything.  I don’t even know what to prepare her for.  (For instance, sitting in the bus.  I didn’t even THINK about explaining how to sit in the bus–like looking for an empty seat or a friend instead of trying to push the big girl out of the way in the front seat) What we can do is encourage her to talk about her day and work through things with her.  Like last week, she accidentally went into the boys bathroom and then got a little lost getting back to her classroom. (she just told me this today)  We were able to talk about it and how she felt and what she did.  All the while I was thanking God that He protected her from teasing or yelling or any other traumatic experience that could have been a part of this little mishap.

I don’t want my superstars to grow up too fast.  And I can see that happening in a public school.  I can see wanting to keep your children as innocent as possible for as long as possible.  I can.  And I’m not saying that we are sending our superstars to public school for all 13 years and that’s the end of the discussion.

What I am saying is that you have to be discerning, but to me public school is a gift as right now I don’t want to homeschool and we can’t afford private school.  Thank you, Jesus, that my superstars will still be able to learn to read.

About giannarae

I am a child of God who has been given the humbling job of being a wife and a mother to 4. Those whom He has given to me are my Sweet Peas and Buddies and one Honey.
This entry was posted in school days, wordgirl. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Schooling

  1. Jen says:

    Great post! If you got my email, you know my feelings! 🙂

    Jen

  2. Bren says:

    Are there really that many ladies homeschooling or sending to private institutions? I know my kids are at private, but Ashley did well in public for the first 6 years, things changed in our district but the teaching was MUCH better than what they would have had at home! 🙂 I am with you on not being able to do that right now, my kids are smarter than me.

  3. I wanted to home school, but couldn't b/c I was a single mother and needed to work. Then when I married Jon, we moved to Atlanta. So I still had to work. It's worked out, she's got one more year then, college.

    I did teach her many things, like how to spell her name, her colors, how to recognize her letters. That was fun. But no way could I have done all the harder stuff.

    Public school is what it is and can be what you make of it.

    Wordgirl will be just fine! She's got a great mom! :o)

  4. Anonymous says:

    We homeschool. I admit most days I do not want to, but God has called us to, I do not believe God calls all families to homeschool, but he does call my family at this time to. When I hear the comment “Oh, I could never do that”, my response is “Tammy can not homeschool, but God can” It is a faith thing for me and I spend alot of time on my knees. I think of missionaries quite a bit and how hard it can be to be overseas without their families, I can not imagine that they always enjoy it, but they are doing what God called them to do. He does not call everyone to do the same things. Our homeschool motto is “Preparing our children for Heaven, not Harvard.” We are the only family in our church that homeschools, and I feel the minority, but being a christian and obeying God is not always easy.

    Tammy, SD

  5. gianna says:

    I see what you are getting at Tammy. And maybe that's the difference between small town and big city. Or maybe it's the blogging world. But I feel like Homeschool is almost absolutely expected. I don't know, but I feel like I am the one who is all alone and not being a good spiritual guide for my kids if I let them be involved in school.

    But I love your motto! LOVE LOVE LOVE your motto. Because that's what is going to be my next post!
    Why education is so important!

  6. Anonymous says:

    I see our conversation inspired a blog post;-P You aren't the only one who feels that pressure to home school. I am one of those highly trained teachers that could totally provide the ultimate home school experience for my kids, but we, too, will choose public schools for now. Contrary to what many people think, public schools can provide some amazing educational opportunities that would logistically be a challenge at home. I look forward to sending my little one off to Kindergarten next year!!

  7. Dana says:

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  8. Dana says:

    I hope you don't mind … but I would like to kindly 🙂 🙂 🙂 point out that kids don't need to attend government schools to experience peer pressure, mean kids, and other similar challenges. My kids have been through some of this at church (and in the neighborhood). Remember my post about Buddy and the communion cups? Homeschooled doesn't mean in a bubble … it's just less exposure to such things. I didn't really want to homeschool this year (at least not my middle two, who often drive me up the proverbial wall) … but it seems I am …

    P.S. I'm CERTAIN you could teach your children to read 🙂 It's even easier than the ongoing teaching of manners, helpfulness, kindness, sharing, respect, common sense …

    P.S. Sorry I deleted the first comment. Needed to add a comma and “proverbial” … and this second P.S. 🙂

Leave a Reply

